Shop Until You Drop! No way…

Barrie, Ontario

Barrie, Ontario (Photo credit: Dougtone)

When I was in my 20s and 30s, I could shop till I was beat out or the stores closed, usually the latter. Now that I’m half a century old, I just want to go for an hour or two and then find my way back home! Not the shopper I once was!

Today my sisters tried to sneak me out for some shopping so they could see what I liked and might want for my birthday tomorrow. I didn’t want to go shopping! Well, that didn’t go over too well with two of them, as they had the responsibility for four of them. They had promised to find out what I really desired. Some jewelry, new shoes and handbag, a sundress and hat, a bathing suit and coverup- they tried their best but I wasn’t biting. I have everything!  What can you buy for someone who has everything? I now pacify my needs, not my wants.

In the first place, I wanted to do some blog posts, not go shopping in the humongous stores that tire you out, before you get half way around them. I just wanted to relax and watch some true mysteries on television, wash out some clothes and generally do nothing all day. So I fought against the young ones, and they won.  They won!

As I tried on Steve Madden sandals and Guess handbags and all kinds of dresses, I wanted more and more to be at home, having a short little nap or walk. Not happy seeing myself in the multitude of mirrors on walls and in dressing rooms,  I gave hints. How about gift cards for Chapters or Winners? What about the Travel Bug? Is there one in Barrie?  I wanted to stock up on Tilley panties and socks, the ones that dry overnight, for my many trips to Spain, Italy, Australia-the places of my dreams. Or what about the best knapsack for those trips, one that would suit any travel in a hot climate? Or since I have a Chameleon ring, that allows new centers, what about an Inukshuk for it?

All of my suggestions fell on deaf ears. Or should I say ears that didn’t want to listen to my ideas. I have always hated to buy something quickly. Even on vacations, it is hard for me to make choices of souvenirs for my grandchildren.

My wants are few these days. When my contract for my Blackberry runs out, I want a new iPhone4s. I want to travel across Spain like my friends Lyla and Phil did. Not too many wants but these are wants that only I can decide on. I don’t expect my sisters to fund my phone or travel plans. Oh, yes, I also want a part-time job that I can enjoy. But I can’t even figure that one out!

Now I’m ready for that nap which my eyes are telling me I need, as they are closing as I type. So if I’m lucky some gift cards will materialize and no more trips to the stores will fool up the rest of my day. Thank God for gift cards! And sisters who probably do get the hint when their oldest sibling continually tells them that she doesn’t like shopping any more!

I’m glad that I have finally reached that point in my life where I no longer want to shop till I drop!

Gift Card

Gift Card (Photo credit: 401K)

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shop Until You Drop! No way…

  1. I tend to be the same way and can relate. Enjoy your nap. :)

  2. Dor says:

    I still want to shop til I drop. The problem is, I drop early. :) Great post and oh, so true.

Leave a Reply

