A Mother’s Day Idea

Happy..Happy.. Mother's Day :-)..

Happy..Happy.. Mother’s Day :-).. (Photo credit: Thai Jasmine (Smile..smile…Smile..))

Why am I being so sentimental today? Perhaps it’s because I’m missing my mother and my mother-in-law. So I’m sitting here in the midst of the mess and the clutter wondering what we can do for all those friends of ours who have no mothers living on the planet any more! You must think I’m nuts or got nothing better to do with my time! You could be right!

I thought it would be nice for husbands, common-law spouses, and boyfriends and any female who wants to do this, to show some consideration for the hearts that still hurt a little every Mother’s Day, to make a bouquet or buy a bouquet to bring to the graveside without letting the other partner know(or take it on Mother’s Day), and then go for a visit there on Mother’s Day to say a little prayer of remembrance and thankfulness for the time spent with that person. If you believe in guardian angels, ask yours to guide you to do something special.

My own mother died far too young, at the young age of 48, and since she is buried over 400 miles away, I depend on my aunts or cousins to place flowers on her grave. I know several of my friends who are going to be very sad this Mother’s Day as they have lost their darling mothers since the last special day.

It’s just a little idea, in sweet remembrance of a dear soul gone to her rest! Perhaps you have some ideas of how your loved ones can surprise you.

Mothers' Day Cake crop

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Mother’s Day Idea

  1. I have been feeling very sentimental today too. I think it may be that I am so aware of the fact that I may not have my mother for many more years and that is very unsettling. However , I did get to talk to her today and I am grateful that I can still do that.,
    A lovely post , Pauline.

    • I hope she stays around for many more years. People are living to 100 years and beyond, so let’s hope that she lives a long, healthy life! You are very lucky to have her in your life, as I’m sure you’re aware of this!

      >________________________________

  2. I think this is a wonderful idea and I am in your same boat…My Mom just passed away in February, so it’s still raw for my sisters, Dad (92) and myself. She was 90 and lived a good, long life, but it’s still difficult losing a parent for the first time. My husband’s Mom passed away at 59, 20 years ago, and we still miss her and think of her. So, without a Mom this Mother’s Day, I can totally understand your sentimentality, as I feel the same way. My Dad and sisters live in the same area and will be taking flowers to Mom’s grave site. I’ll “see” her over Memorial Day weekend, but until then, she’ll be in our hearts, memories and celebrations…thanks for a wonderful reminder and post. Lauren

  3. Darlene says:

    I also feel very fortunate that I still have my dear mother (83 years old). She doesn’t live near me but we talk on the phone very often. I feel for those who no longer have that priviledge. So sad to hear you lost your mother at such a young age. XO

    • She had been sick most of her life. She couldn’t walk far or work too hard. She had nine children so she had to work. She baked bread every day! She was in the sanitarium for TB when she was younger. She’d had two open heart surgeries, and her heart was getting weaker. The third surgery to repair a pig’s valve was too much for her. She died at 48. It was a big loss to Dad and the rest of us. Thanks for your kind words!

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

