Raspberry Heaven

Aromas from my childhood

must begin with the raspberry stew

in a boiler on the stove

My mother wearing a type of bandanna

stirring the berries with a large spoon

Adding sugar and tasting for sweetness

with a smile on her face as she glanced at us

Stirring some more to make sure the berries were

boiled and ready for our slices of homemade bread

Just one slice of bread for each of us

because she was making tarts for Dad’s supper

A delicious gift from nature to all of us

and a special gift from everyone to a hardworking father

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, Poetry, Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Raspberry Heaven

  1. Again..this is beautiful Pauline. It reminds me of how much baking my own Mom did over the years and like all women back then….everything from ”scratch”. None of these simply buy and add water mixes. they would come years later.
    Mom took such great pleasure in serving her baking to my Dad who really and truly relished in all her cooking and baking . We all did of course! For Mom it was a labour of love and she enjoyed watching us devour every single morsel.
    It is true isn’t it that somehow nothing tastes as good as your Mom’s cooking. It is just so special!

Leave a Reply

