Joan, Come Here I Have Something To Show You!

First, let me tell you how loved our horse Bud was! Dad spoke gently to him and the whole family loved to feed him and go on rides around the field. Photographs were taken with him standing to one side or in the background. But the person who loved Bud the most was my mom, Joan Marie Finlay. She sneaked him an apple or a slice of bread and molasses any time she had a moment from looking after nine very active children. It was like she had a calmness about her when she was with the horse. She talked to him and spent a few minutes combing his coat until it shone. I’m telling you this because I want you to know how much my mother valued the horse and any time she was free to spend with Bud. He was a handsome, gentle horse and it seemed like he knew my mother and how much she cared for him.

It was Saturday morning around 11 a.m. and the kitchen floor was spotless. I ought to know as I scrubbed the blue and white tiles with Comet, while listening to Glen Campbell and Charlie Pride, two of my mother’s favorite singers. Shortly after that I was in my room reading which was nothing usual until I thought I heard a loud noise.  I looked up from my book and then continued on until I heard my father’s voice. My room was right off the kitchen and I could hear it clearly.

“Joan, come here I have something to show you!” my father said.  I rushed out of my room to see what the big deal was before Mom got there. Not often did Dad call Mom when she was busy cleaning the bathroom or putting away ironed clothes.

My eyes nearly popped out of their sockets for there was our horse Bud standing on the kitchen floor.  I kid you not! This really did happen.  I was thinking about my clean floor when  Mom came rushing out, and her jaw dropped when she saw Bud standing near the kitchen table. I’m sure the poor horse had no idea why he was indoors!

Mom rubbed Bud down and then went to get him a slice of bread and molasses. He followed her with his eyes. I rubbed him down while Mom was busy and he relaxed a little. He enjoyed the bread and molasses and then both Mom and Dad walked him out of the house.  Mom was beaming.  To think that Finlay(her name for him) had brought Bud in to surprise her was amazing. It was such a sweet gesture.  He didn’t give her flowers or chocolates, but he gave her an unexpected visitor, a horse that she adored.

You romantics out there may not see this as very romantic, but to my mother this was better than diamonds. She knew that Dad was thinking about her and did something really special for her, a little surprise to brighten up her day.  This image of the horse in the kitchen and the look on my mother’s face will stay with me until the day I die or lose my memory. Surely it is in the small things of life that we can see the love and the beauty! If we but open our eyes it is all around us and it is in the small deeds of our ordinary lives, which in fact are not really that ordinary if you can just see each deed  for what it is.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Joan, Come Here I Have Something To Show You!

  1. Linda (Carroll) Coddington says:

    This is so neat Pauline. I can hear your Mom calling “Finlay” and see the smile all the way to his eyes.

  2. Yes, she called him that all the time. Did your mom have a special name for your dad? I often wondered about the various couples in our community. Thanks for commenting.

  3. Pauline, this is an absolutely beautiful story! I loved it. It gave a tickling rush of romantic pleasure. I could just see your dad doing this. Now I see why I liked him. He exuded that sensitivity . And you describe it superbly. Good job!

    • I think Mom was really the only woman for him. No one else could understand him like she did. Aunt Carmel who dated dad before her once said “your mother could see no farther than Finlay”! And we thought there was no romance back then! LOL She loved tending on him.

      Sent from my iPad

  4. Pauline this is a beautiful story.Your Mom was a darling so kind and gentle and both she and your Dad worked so hard,raising nine children.”Saints do walk among us”.

  5. Dor says:

    What a sweet mother, and Bud knew it too. I love this story.

  6. Lori says:

    I feel the same way about my horse, Cody. Lovely story!

Leave a Reply

