Jumping In The Puddles(unrhymed)

The dirty old road

covered our clothes with dust

or mud depending on the time of year

It didn’t matter much as we wore

our old clothes for playing around the door

and up and down the road and in the fields

or jumping in the puddles which was so nice

after a day of raining and being stuck in the house

Or who can remember waiting for the potholes

to be covered over after the night of frost

so that we could spend moments of joy

breaking all the ice as though it were glass or

our very own diamonds to admire and then destroy?

 

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jumping In The Puddles(unrhymed)

  1. Loved it~ brings back so many childhood memories!

    • Last night I was thinking that you should do a blog, too. I came up with My Thoughts As I Walked…What do you think? It’s so easy and you have a lot to share. You an make it private so that only your family can read it. Thanks for reading! I was thinking of my one and only doll today.

Leave a Reply

