Nan Whiffin

I called her nan for many years

without knowing her name was Elizabeth

and admired her hair in rollers and a hair net

She looked like a nun to me in her gimps

with white blouses  ironed just so 

but the brooches looked out of place

When I visited her in the home she told me not to

touch her jewelry when she went to the bathroom

and I told her I’d take care of it for her

She gave my boys money when we visited

and showed them all her dolls which she

kept displayed on her bed

She spent many years looking after

my grandfather Andrew and her children

until there was only Andy and Joe left

She even travelled to Ontario to look after her sons

when they moved to find work  and

she made the best fried pork chops I ever tasted

She got my Aunt Madeline to buy her items

she needed while she stayed in a prison of her own 

never wanting to go outside for fear she’d fall

She was invited to all baptisms and weddings

and she bought new clothes from vendors who visited

but she never wore any of the fancy items

She complained when people forgot to visit

and looked lonesome whenever I saw her

but she didn’t want to do anything about it

She seemed to find life inside the walls

of the seniors’ home complete

and never desired anything more

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, People, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nan Whiffin

  1. kvennarad says:

    Simple, straightforward, a very vivid pen-portrait. I like the insistence of “She’ starting nearly every sentence – the focus is relentless. I never knew that Newfoundlanders used the word ‘nan’ – it’s very Welsh and, to an extent, also typical of N W England.

    M
    __________
    Marie Marshall
    writer/poet/editor
    Scotland
    http://mairibheag.com
    http://kvennarad.wordpress.com

  2. You have a way with words. Very perceptive .

    • I don’t know about that, but thanks for the comment. I just write what I remember. Most of the time it just flows. If I check it over hours later, I can see where it can be better. It’s great that we can edit any time! Cheerio!

Leave a Reply

