On The Strawberry Farm

We had some laughs on the farm

when pickers filled themselves

and their buckets

but only paid for their buckets’ booty.

Dad often asked me to make raisin buns

so that he could invite all the single ladies

and daughters and granddaughters in

for a mug up and then charmed them with his Irish brogue.

Dad once came to the wicket and left

a glass of cold beer hidden above the wicket

and when I was closing up

it toppled over and came right down on top of me!

The best season for the farm gave us issues

about what to do with all the cash

and since I was in charge I left $7000

in the back trunk of my car while I took my son to see Bon Jovi!

Several summers in a row a charming married lady came to pick

the leftover berries and made wonderful wine which

she shared with my father and needless to say

he liked the wine and the pretty lady!

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

