Our Math Teacher

As long as I live

I’ll never forget Mr. Brennan

who challenged us in Mathematics class

He’d teach us something and

give us a problem to do that night

and never tell us the answer

We’d rush home and try to solve it

and run out to Mr. Power to get some help

because we couldn’t let our teacher win

If I got 88 on a test, he’d say

“You can do better!”

and I’d fret for a while and then try harder

He talked about soccer nonstop

sandwiched between teaching Math

and telling stories about his homeland

He helped many students

believe in their abilities

and if he were around today I’d say “Thank you!”

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in People, Poetry, School Memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Math Teacher

  1. Wnnie Carroll says:

    Yes Pauline he was a good teacher but his wife always made us feel more comfortable. She gave us alot of strenght especially when she spoke of Ireland

    • I remember her as well. She was a sweet person, and you’re right that she spoke of her homeland often. One time when the class was being difficult, I remember her with tears running down her face. I wonder where they both are now.

Leave a Reply

