Our Newfoundland Tartan Uniform

If you attended St.Francis Xavier High School

in the 70s you might remember the girls’ uniform

I had a skirt and vest of the tartan

with a yellow blouse to wear with it

I don’t think I have a photo of me in the outfit

as not many people had cameras back then

I do vividly recall the Presentation Sisters

lining us up and measuring the length of our skirts

Mini skirts were in back then

and of course some of us pushed the envelope a little

I doubt that students today would wear our uniform style

but it might be attractive for a restaurant or pub

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Newfoundland Tartan Uniform

  1. We had a uniform too but it consisted of a navy blue blazer , white blouse and gray skirt. Thank goodness we didn’t have to line up to get our skirt lengths measured . No nuns in the amalgamated school I attended. What a waste of time that must have been.

    • I remember when my sons had to wear grey pants, a white shirt and green sweater at Pius X and grey, burgundy and white in St.Shotts. Looks great on photos and I think makes it easier for parents but I’m not sure it does a whole lot to unite the school!

Leave a Reply

