A Midwife Hero

English: Midwife examines pregnant mother with...

Image via Wikipedia

Dedicated to the memory of Mrs. Ryan who to my way of thinking is one of the most interesting characters of Pasadena; some day I hope to do a story about her, when I get more information to truly give her credit for all she did in her lifetime and her exemplary dedication to our town of Pasadena

Please forward to me any newspaper articles, information on the number of children she helped bring into the world, and other factual details you may know. Thanking you in advance for this information, which needs to be preserved for your children and grandchildren.

 

 

 

Can you see the midwife

as a hero to so many?

She left the warmth of her own bed

to travel wherever and whenever she was needed.

She was professional in preparing the scene

so that mother and child were safe and looked after.

She felt the desire to help others

without receiving a paycheck in return.

She stared lovingly into the eyes of our first residents

believing that the child was a worthwhile human being.

She provided a service when doctors and nurses were few,

taking responsibility for the most important medical care.

Was she rewarded by the communities she helped,

although she might not have expected any type of  recognition?

She will be remembered in the hearts of those she born and their families,

those she helped when peace of mind and love of neighbour were paramount.

If you have details about a midwife, please comment or send me information.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Childhood Memories, People and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Midwife Hero

  1. I’m not familiar with any midwives in Grand Falls ,I suppose because there was a cottage hospital there. But I have heard my mother talk about midwives when she was growing up and they certainly were valued .

Leave a Reply

