Sep 60 A Black and White Photo

A piece of history

taken by my mother

faded now after 51 years

It was a Sunday as we were

in our Sunday’s best clothes

My father looked relaxed and had

Rosie standing next to him

He had his arm around her

and he was knelt down

I was standing to the right of the horse

with Tommy in front of me

I was holding him up

as he was too young to walk yet

Betty was sitting on the ground

looking right ahead at Mom

Carolann was perched beside my legs

playing with some grass or sticks

Bud, our favorite horse,  was grazing

not fazed by the camera or the six people

Five children in six years of marriage

my parents were proud folk

The camera in the matriarch’s hands

recording history for years to come

This photo was given to me by Mrs. Mary(Chris) Molloy who had kept it since 1960, when my mom had mailed it to her. In my father’s handwriting on the back are these words:

roslee and albert by the horse, pauline standing with tommee in her arms, tommie got his hand on Carlann’s head and Bettie is sitting ahead of Carlann

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

