Where do you want me to go, Mom, Pike’s or the Co-op?

With nine hungry mouths to feed and no money to spend

it’s no wonder I had to ask my mother again

Where do you want me to go-Pike’s or the Co-op?

I reach for my shoes and pull down my top

My mother turns with a bandanna on her head,

her hands in the dough, she’s making some bread

I have no money, Pauline, you know where you go

You go to the Co-op and they’ll mark it down- Don’t be slow!

I turn about fast and go through the door

My mother knows best how to handle her money at the store

I walk up the street, past the Dykes, Walsh’s, Roses, and stay clear of the ditches

I don’t miss a beat, catch my breath, now and then getting a few stitches

I have to do my part as I know Mom is so busy with all of us to feed

I pick up the items and bring them to the counter with record speed

I see Ms. Butt on my way down the road; she’s looking out the window at Pike’s store

She is always friendly and kind to me, checking in stuff and watching the door

Mr. And Mrs. Pike always chat with me, when they aren’t busy stacking shelves

or cleaning up the place, which is full to the ceiling or looking after themselves

I pass by the Tipple’s and French’s on my run back with the grub

And arrive just in time to put the young ones in the tub (as it’s Saturday)

Mom looks up as I put things away and she grins as if to say

What would I do without you? You are always ready to help out in any way!

No need to say thanks as it is always understood

that going to the Co-op or Pikes is for everyone’s own good!

 

 

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where do you want me to go, Mom, Pike’s or the Co-op?

  1. nominated for the Liebster Blog Award
    hope you like it
    http://scribblinghermit.wordpress.com/

    • Thanks so much for thinking of me for the award! I value your opinion. I’m a big admirer of your scribblins. I happy you like to read about life in our little town of Pasadena, Newfoundland and life in general. Happy New Year!

  2. I loved this poem , Pauline, for all the pictures you paint. Wonderfully nostalgic!

Leave a Reply

