Potato Time

The potatoes were ready to be dug up

Potatoes

A small family garden

and it amazed all of us how many potatoes there were

under the one big green plant

We had to pick them up and spread them to dry

then we had to fill the bags so that I could

go with my father to sell the potatoes door to door

He would be so happy when we’d sell a lot of potatoes

and he’d get to chat with some folks he didn’t know,

then we’d drive home happy that no dogs had bitten us

Potato harvest time was a special time

when there was extra food and money

to help a large family along

Children gathering potatoes on a large farm, v...

Picking up the potatoes

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

