The Strawberry U-Pick

Fragaria × ananassa 'Chandler,' a short-day co...

Not only was it the highlight of some of

my best visits to Pasadena

It was some of the best summers of

my sons’ early lives-our trips to help Poppy!

We’d arrive after a day of driving

after being couped up in a car in the heat

To walk onto well groomed farmland

with drills and drills of beautiful strawberry plants

My sons would think they were going to be rich

if they picked umpteen baskets of berries

My father would think he had it made

to have someone to help with the weeding

Neither was right as the picking soon grew boring

and the weeds kept on growing to dad’s chagrin

Sometimes my sisters would come along to help

and often we would find time to enjoy the beach

My fun was greeting the visitors who picked to

their hearts content, some leaving with full bellies too

My summer was filled with hundreds of conversations

about many topics with many different outcomes

When it was all over, we’d all have a few dollars in our pockets

and many memories to last us until the next strawberry season

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Strawberry U-Pick

  1. Mary Nemec says:

    I REMEMBER BEING OVER TO YOUR DADS WITH MOM ONE SUMMER AND WE PICKED STRAWBERRIES. YOU AND YOUR BOYS WERE THERE THEN. YOUR DAD WAS SUCH A HARD WORKER. LOVE READING YOUR BLOGS. MARY

  2. Pingback: Going up to Maxwells tonight? « newfoundlandtraveller

Leave a Reply

