Playing In The Brook

 
A Universe in a Stream
Soothing vision of brook water

There was a small brook

running beside our house

at the end of  Midland Row.

I slept at night with

the soothing sound

of water running over rocks and twigs.

My sisters and I walked beside the brook

in the daytime in our bare feet

trying to find some insects to capture.

We ran beside it and sat beside it

in the warm noon day sun

wondering what our lives would be.

Often we would paddle in it

and feel the cold water against our skin

when the beach was too far away.

Mostly I recall the evenings when

leaves from a tree near our house cast shadows

 on our bedroom wall, with the water music to my ears!

Play was natural and so relaxing

with the gadgets available today nonexistent

in those childhood years in Pasadena

Shadows of life in a mineral world

Shadows of leaves on my wall

 
About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

