C.O.D.

English: Cover of first Eaton's catalogue in 1...

No, that is not cod, the fish which Newfoundland is so well known for

It is Cash On Delivery and it is the way we bought our clothing and other supplies

At Christmas time of year we would know all about the Eaton’s and Sears catalogues

We’d make a list of all the items we would buy if we were millionaires

Then we’d pare it down to one or two items that our parents could afford

One Christmas I remember getting a green blouse and green plaid pants from Sears

When I got a card in the mail, saying there is a parcel there C.O.D. I couldn’t wait

I’d rush home and get the money from my mother and then rush out to the post office again

That was the way it was done in our town as there were not many department stores

People went to Corner Brook or Deer Lake to shop at a department store occasionally

But most of the time C.O.D. made more sense as we could get so many items not available in those communities

Remember getting all the clothes and trying it on, choosing only what fit and you liked

Then the items not wanted were returned through the mail or at those stores in Corner Brook

Now it seems a million years back to C.O.D. , since shopping online and in the malls is so prevalent

 

Simpsons-Sears logo
About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, Poetry, Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

