Premier J. R. Smallwood Picked Us Up When We Were Hitchhiking

Map of Newfoundland, Canada
English: World Cup Triathlon, Corner Brook, Ne...

Image via Wikipedia

 

No, you may not believe it, but I swear it is true

My sister and I were hitchhiking to Corner Brook one day
A shiny black car came along with an old man in the passenger seat
There was a chauffeur driving the fancy car
The car stopped and we got in the back seat
We had no idea then that we were riding with the premier of our province
And had we known all the questions we were going to be asked we may not have gotten in
He asked about us questions about Pasadena, and the farm in Little Rapids
We could answer a few of his questions but most of them made us feel like we knew very little
I think about that drive to Corner Brook occasionally when I am driving alone and see a hitchhiker
I remember eyeballing the driver in the mirror and mouthing the words-Is this the Premier? and he nodded
Mr. Smallwood was on his way to a youth conference at the Glynmill Inn
My sister and I talked about the experience after we got dropped off on West Street
We both thought it was a very nice gesture, and figured the premier wanted to talk to some youth before the conference
It is not important that you believe this story, but it was one of the most embarrassing times of my teenage years
I felt that I did not know much about the community I lived in, or the businesses and places along the highway
The experience taught me to open my ears and learn about the province we call home 
Joey Smallwood
 
 
About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in People, Poetry, Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Premier J. R. Smallwood Picked Us Up When We Were Hitchhiking

  1. Interesting Pauline! My hubby has, over the years, told the story of how Joey picked him up hitch hiking as well. Our Mr.Smallwood was doing the driving himself that day however.

    • I’d forgotten about it until I start running out of ideas for stories. It’s neat how he picked your husband up. Perhaps it made Joey feel that he was like everyone else when he did that. Who knows? It was good of him to stop for anyone. I wonder does anyone else out there have a similar experience. Ain’t Blogging great? Stories that would be lost forever!

  2. Pingback: May I Come Down For A Visit, Aunt Lean? « newfoundlandtraveller

Leave a Reply

