Walking To The Post Office

 
Archie Comics #5

 

One time when there was just woods behind White’s house

I walked to the post office, across the big field and the TCH

to mail some letters and to get the mail, all alone

I was fearless back then and did not waver when asked to go

My mother trusted me to get money orders and mail

that was a big thing to be in charge of when I was just a girl

and being the oldest of nine meant doing whatever you’re asked

 

even if it means walking alone to cross a busy highway

Sometimes I’d get a Humpty Dumpty magazine or a special letter

and with the dime I was given I’d buy a bar or a Creamsicle or a new comic book

then I’d take my treasure and march right back  the same path to our house on

Midland Row, singing at the top of my voice, making up my own songs as I strolled along!

Trans Canada Highway (EP)
About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Walking To The Post Office

  1. Pingback: The TCH Ran Through Our Town « newfoundlandtraveller

Leave a Reply

