What I Remember About The Train

We seemed to take it for granted when I was growing up

The train was passing through each day and we could hear it

Sometimes boxcars were left out near the track by the beach

But we’d cross the track and look both ways, of course

You ‘d hear it before you’d see it, so you didn’t worry about it

You knew it was coming and I’m sure the people living close to it knew the times

Living on Midland Row I didn’t actually know much about it

Except when the train was being phased out I remember the day

I took my three sons to see the train and they got onboard for a ride

I still have a pictures of them all climbing aboard and they were so excited

It was my first time on the train as I had no reason to be on it as a child

We collected spikes after the rails were taken up and brought them to St. Shotts

We painted a group of them one time to give to my whole class when we studied the train

There might be a few buried beneath the surface in that community by the sea

When I visited my Aunt Carmel in Riverside Drive I heard the train much louder

And often I’d tremble in my bed to hear the loud clanging noises it made

One of my cousins got hurt by the train when he ventured too close

I wish I had more rides on the train when it was still part of our everyday life

English: Duluth box car number 18052 on displa...

Not sure what the boxcars looked like but something like this

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I Remember About The Train

  1. donna hewitt says:

    At one time the train came as far as Trepassey. I am told my father, as a passenger, was once mistaken for Peter Cashin, a well known figure in NL politics at the time.
    I took the train in the west end of St.John;s on several occasions, with my mother and one or two siblings to travel to Southern Harbour, Placentia Bay. These trips were always by night as I recall, very slow but very interesting as one could move about and get drinking water by using pointed paper cups. Our destination would be Arnold’s Cove Station, where we were collected by relatives and taken the remaining 6-7 km to Southern Hr. It was a bumpy ride.I have no recollection of other passengers but the conductor passed through to check on us. My last ride was at 10 years of age. In later years, while a student in St.John’s, I always fondly associated the train whistle, moaning its way through the West End, with these childhood memories.

    • What an amazing story,Madonna! I have photos somewhere of all my boys on the train in Pasadena. But we never travelled on a train together until then. I spent hours on trains when I taught in Takla and loved it. As a child it must have been magical! Thanks for this memory from childhood.

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Donna Hewitt says:

    Just to add to my previous comment-I last rode a train from Ottawa to Toronto, 4 or 5 years ago. It was February and I opted to take the train instead of a flight, to re-live that childhood experience. I looked forward to meeting interesting people, as what else could we possibly do en route but get to know each other? I was sadly mistaken-head phones, books, and just plain disinterest in the art of conversation, made for a somewhat boring ride. i contented myself with observing the skidoo tracks on the many fields around Kingston and Belleville and recalled Mrs. Richardson’s (senior friend in Wawa) comment when I spoke of how exciting it would be to take train from
    Sudbury to White River, ON, sometime-“Yes I suppose, if you like looking at Chrsitmas trees all day!”

    -“Yes, I suppose, if you like looking at Christmas trees all day!”

    Sudbury to White River sometime

    • I had a notion to do that two years ago from Carleton Place to Toronto, but I was lucky enough to sit beside a very interesting young man who treated me like his mother. We discussed his many trips abroad and our work. Charming and respectful young man! The time passed too quickly.

      Sent from my iPad

  3. Pingback: Bookstore Visit « newfoundlandtraveller

Leave a Reply

