Images Of Pasadena

Hi-Way Diner and Brennans

Strolling up and down Midland Row

Families picking baskets of strawberries at the u-pick

Enjoying shopping at Gifts of Joy and Frenchies

Visualizing couples going to mass at Holy Rosary Church

Getting through funeral services at the graveyard

Seeing neighbours bringing pots of goulash and soup

Shopping at Brennans with my three sons

Sitting before a bonfire on the beach

Watching the pink sky at night

Looking for the Little and Big Dippers

Washing our hair in the lake early in the morning

Squishing our toes in the sand right at the water’s edge

Remembering Father Grace preaching from the pulpit

Seeing Mr. and Mrs. Pike working together in their store

Thinking about Billy Connors teaching me to drive

Laughing at Coopie’s jokes while waiting for Sheila

Trying my first cigarette and getting dizzy

Eating fries and gravy at Hi-Way Diner

Serving hamburgers at South Brook Park

Taking my time going to the post office

Walking home with few street lights

Dressing up for church on Sundays

Enjoying midnight mass on Christmas Eve

Rushing home after school on the dusty roads

Washing and drying dishes after supper each day

Looking over the fence at grandmother’s garden

Wondering what my grandfather thought of me

Helping my mother every day

Thinking that our community was cool

Liking the level roads and fields for playing

Watching out for bats at night

Getting scratches for TB

Combing my hair to detect nits or lice

Trying to do my best at school

Believing in the Golden Rule

Imagining how the place would change

Making friends in nearby places

Spreading our wings without breaking too many rules

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, Poetry, School Memories, Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Images Of Pasadena

  1. Pingback: Well, Why Not A Plug? « newfoundlandtraveller

  2. Pingback: What Makes You Happy? « newfoundlandtraveller

  3. Theresa Green says:

    These images of Pasadena are beautiful and the memories bring back simple but happy childhood days. Oh to be a child again. lol
    Enjoyed reading about these memories.

Leave a Reply

