Stealing Crab Apples

Polski: Jabłoń

 

I don’t know what the attraction was

as the apples tasted sour I’m sure

And the fruit trees were fenced

on someone else’s property

I heard someone got shot with salt

in the behind, or was it something else

Memories are not clear after these past years

English: Crab Apples, Mains, Beith

and the crab apples are mostly forgotten

I remember seeing the green apples

on the road where someone had run over a frog

I looked over the fence and saw dark figures

climbing the trees and then trying to get off the property fast

Childhood mischief, bored bodies open to suggestions

to try to get over someone’s time and warnings

No lights close by to reveal the culprits’ energized faces

with little to gain for taking such brash chances

Trespassors on others’ property in dead of night

 crab apples left to rot or thrown at friends lightheartedly

Now remembered among other childhood pranks

the stealing of the sour fruit seems harmless indeed

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stealing Crab Apples

  1. Crab apples, I remember them as a child in the UK. Excellent for throwing at friends and I still remember the tart taste which totally dried out your mouth. I can even remember places where crab apple trees grew. I wonder how many British kids today know what a crab apple is.

  2. Pingback: For the Love of Apples — Olivia Canela

  3. Pingback: For the Love of Apples - Olivia Canela

Leave a Reply

