The Blue Ball Dump

It’s funny the things you remember

when you allow your mind to slip back

Ursus americanus English: A black bear standing

A Black Bear

about the times you heard that there

were bears in the Blue Ball dump

and you wanted to have transportation

to drive up there and have a look at them

You wouldn’t dare walk up there as

you might get attacked by a bear

who was hungry enough to eat you!

Imagination runs wild and you can’t separate

fact from fiction, what exactly happened at that dump?

Did the bears become a threat so close to the town?

Memory is foggy now and only the image of the bears

remain, trying to eke out food for their own survival

Nothing remains in my head of anyone encountering a bear or

venturing too close and being harmed in any way

How quickly we forget or how we discard memories

which fade to a few small details, nothing more, just gone

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, Poetry, Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.