How far from our nest have we flown?

 
A deserted bird's nest
Deserted bird’s nest

Yes, I’m in a sentimental mood today.  I’m thinking about all the friends or acquaintances from my hometown of Pasadena. Where have they all gone? How far from our hometown have we flown?

I got on this tangent early this morning before taking my car to the garage for maintenance, where I’m hoping to meet a teacher I taught with in a community school that no longer exists. She left her small community when there was no longer a job there for her to finish out her career. I really had no desire to teach in my hometown because it held too many sad memories and my husband would never move from his community.

While I have drifted all over Canada, taught in four provinces and travelled in many parts of the country with and without my family, I always rush back home. But at times I feel bad that I have lost touch with many of my childhood/teenage buddies.

One Pasadena girlfriend lives in Iqaluit and I reconnected with her when I went to teach in Qikitarjuaq, Nunavut for five months.  She fed me and kept me company through one of Iqaluit’s snowstorms. She has been a friend since teenage years when she worked at the Glynmill Inn in Corner Brook.

Another friend of mine totally disappeared off the radar when her family moved before we had to go by bus to Deer Lake to school, and I haven’t heard tell of her since then. Well, I did hear that she married an Australian and that she is trained to fix airplanes.  I have no idea if any of it is true. Her mother was a nurse and her father had a big job. That is all I remember from that far back.

Another school mate of mine was a Coady and she lived in Pasadena for only a short time. I really haven’t heard what happened to her. She made such an impression on me that I remembered her name and disposition.

I have kept in touch with my good friends Alvin and Linda and I know they have travelled extensively all over the globe. Some other good friends of mine keep in touch and I know they’ve been in Florida umpteen times and take some cruises. Others go to Alberta or British Columbia to visit their offspring several times a year.

Many of my school mates have left Pasadena altogether and live in St.John’s or in other provinces. Most individuals I know these days go to Cuba, Punta Cana, Jamaica, etc.  Some go on cruises and sight seeing tours of Ireland. My sons have travelled extensively, far more than I have.  One of them lived in South America for six months, learning Spanish and volunteering with children. Another travelled to India for years for work, then Brazil and Saudi Arabia. Another one lived in the United States for a while and today lives in Ontario with his wife and children.

Things have sure changed since our parents’ and grandparents’ time. Now we use our hometown as a base, while we figure out where we are off to next.  It’s like we keep a bucket list and we have to put on it all the places we have to see before we die. How interesting can it get? But usually we all want to circle back to our home, the nest we flew from !

If you’d like to send a comment to illustrate just how many places your family or you have travelled, please do so.  I’d love to hear from you!

 

Globe
 
About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, St. Shotts Connection, Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How far from our nest have we flown?

  1. Eric Alagan says:

    You might want to check this regarding world travellers > http://wp.me/p1YE83-ba
    Peace, Eric

  2. Pingback: Well, Why Not A Plug? « newfoundlandtraveller

  3. Pingback: Salt of the Earth « newfoundlandtraveller

Leave a Reply

