No Interruptions -It’s time for the rosary!

When the Finlay family was saying the rosary

Rosary

Rosary Beads

there could be no interruptions

If you happened by at that particular time

you were expected to get on your knees and join in

 

I’m not sure how many friends of mine from Pasadena

who were practising Roman Catholics

said the rosary regularly, with the family each night

with repetitions of prayers at a rehearsed speed

 

I just remember that when my father was not

away working in the lumber woods or other places

he would insist that we say the rosary each night,

without fail, and no one was exempt

 

Mom or Dad would lead off the prayer

and then the older girls were expected to

say a decade of the rosary which included

the Our Father, ten Hail Marys, and Glory Be

 

Sometimes it was said too fast for my father’s liking

and he’d look at the speaker and say

“Say that again and this time slow down.”

and we’d look at our siblings and grin while starting again

 

We were on our knees for the full length of the rosary

and we’d wish it was over as our knees and back hurt

and we couldn’t wait to go back to finishing our homework

or we could go back to what we were doing before it started

 

We never really discussed saying the rosary

It was something that we had to do as a family

We were children who listened to our parents and

we wouldn’t dare say we weren’t going to participate

 

Sometimes we’d get mixed up and forget how many

A rosary from 1475-1500, Germany.

Hail Marys were said already and other times

we might start giggling because someone had

done something funny with little bums stuck in the air

 

And though we didn’t really want to say the rosary

we got down on our knees or grabbed a pillow or blanket

to make the chore less painful or agonizing

and we did our best to get through it as quickly as we could

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Interruptions -It’s time for the rosary!

  1. Mom and Dad still say the rosary together every evening. I still do a rosary sometimes. To me it is like a meditation.

    • I have to be honest and say while I have several rosary beads, I can’t remember the last time I said the rosary. I do have friends who read to each other, and pray together. What does the psychologist in you say about forcing people to participate in the rosary?

      >________________________________

  2. mmartin5577 says:

    It was a ”given” at our home as with so many others in Newfoundland to say the rosary. At our house my father would set the time and it was usually after supper. We would stop and kneel down in the kitchen area..each of us with our own set of beads.We would follow Dad’s orders as to who was to say what and when. Nobody complained. You wouldn’t dare anyway. There were lots of sneaky giggling moments…well I am really sure though that Dad or Mom ignored most just to get through it somewhat peacefully…with minimum disruption.There were times though..if you know what I mean!That era is long gone but you know it did not hurt us one little bit in my opinion. It is so true that life was much simpler ..maybe more difficult in some ways but there was something so humble about it all. We all knew our ”place” so to speak. There was no wondering .Life just happened naturally This may sound strange but that is just the way it was.

  3. Pingback: Children’s First Communion Rosary Case | Ladies Shop

Leave a Reply

