Head Lice:The Embarrassment of It All!

I don’t remember much about my school years in Pasadena

Detail of a woman picking lice from a child's ...

1662 Woman picking lice from child's head

but one thing I will never forget is the nurse checking my head for lice

Head louse nits on human hair

Nits on Human Hair

We were called one at a time to go out to a room near the office

and a nurse would parte our hair and within seconds we’d go back to class

Only to see the nurse running back in with a bottle of Kwellada in her hands

I’d take it with my head hung low and walk quickly to my coat and put it in a pocket

No one could know the feelings of embarrassment as I’d shuffle off home after school

to tell dad that the nurse told me to get my hair washed with the Kwellada lotion

The lice must have spread throughout the whole school as each class was checked

and my father gave my brothers the brush cut to get rid of the buggars

My mom was in Toronto at the time, having her heart operated on

and we were continually checking our hair with fine tooth combs and white pillow cases

I recall one day seeing a louse crawling on my desk and dared not tell

the girl with the long hair in front of me or the teacher in front of the class

Now I know it is not from dirt and that children today still go through the

same process of having a nurse checking their heads for lice, from time to time

Letters go home to whole classes of children that parents should be on the lookout for nits and lice

Sheets and clothing are washed in boiling water and heads get treated with a special lotion

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, School Memories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Head Lice:The Embarrassment of It All!

  1. I think everyone,from our era that is, remembers those dreaded days of lice infestations…and the embarrassment of it all. Isn’t it somewhat of a relief though to know that it wasn’t caused by being ”dirty” as such….although the belief was opposite at the time.

    • We now know it doesn’t come from dirt. Like you said it happened in many schools years ago, and I’m sure it still goes on today. I want to know where they come from in the first place!

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

