Hopscotch

I was trying to think of games we played as children

Nebe, peklo, ráj / hopscotch

Chaulk hopscotch drawn on asphalt

and hopscotch was one that we often played

It was fun to play with two or three and it

required a piece of God’s earth and stone markers

We’d often use a coin and everyone would have

a different coin or anything that was available would do

We’d throw the marker and if it landed on a line

we were out and we lost our turn

But if we threw the marker and it landed inside the lines

we had to hop to the block, pick up the stone and hop back

Then we got a chance to throw again

and the one who got right back to the starting block won

It was an easy game to play and it required very little skill

just a few friends with a stick to draw the blocks and some markers

A good patch of earth and some good weather

and we could pass an hour any time of day!

English: Modern schoolyard hopscotch court.

English game of hopscotch

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hopscotch

  1. Loved this game and have so many fond memories of time spent playing it…either alone or with friends. I also taught it to several of my primary classes over the years as it seems to have become a forgotten part of our ”heritage” so to speak. I wonder what the origin of hopscotch is…Scotland?? Just a little joking here but seriously I may just google it and see.
    By the way………… A nice flat rock would be used as a marker!!

    • I thought we used other items as well. And how did we distinguish one marker from the others? So much I’ve forgotten. I do remember skipping and I didn’t like the long skipping ropes where each person had to jump in. Good timing was required! Any other games? Tiddley and marbles? Can’t remember ever playing jacks.

      >________________________________

  2. Eric Alagan says:

    We children used to have fun with this in Singapore – yes, boys and girls, but died off in the sixties. We called it “balloon” – after the top semi circled cone

    • pauline says:

      How interesting! I don’t remember that shape but it was close to our shape. I don’t remember the boys playing it. Any Newfoundland men out there remember playing? Thnx for the comment. I wish more people would take some time to comment.

      Sent from my iPad

      • Laura Hewitt says:

        Apart from skipping, this was probably our favorite pasttime growing up. I didn’t realize it, but we were using the English style. However we used another square at the top instead of the semicircle. We always looked for a very thin flat stone for our marker. And no, I don’t remember boys joining us.

      • I loved hopscotch too. I think it was good exercise, as we didn’t want to stop!

        Sent from my iPad

  3. I have great memories of playing this, too, and of my kids playing hopscotch. Do kids even play this anymore? We used to play hide and seek, jump rope, Chinese jump rope, ping pong, and the list goes on…I don’t see kids outside as much nowadays, which is very sad. Thanks for a great post~

    • It seems that children are rarely seen outdoors playing any more. I know my own grandchildren go outside to play soccer and to jump on their trampoline, and to go on a quad or ski doo. I haven’t seen anyone play hopscotch in years!

      • I remember trampolining, too, fun times! When my kids were little, they rode bikes, played hide and seek on the block and they did play hopscotch when they were very young…but with technology abundantly at everyone’s fingertips, outdoor play is becoming a thing of the past. It’s really up to the parents to encourage outdoor activities and exercise…

      • Yes, most parents are involved with hiking, camping, and travelling with their children. The technology is used in the car on the way or when they return home. Obesity is on the rise so I am hopeful that more families see that getting the whole family involved is the way to go.

      • I completely agree! 🙂

Leave a Reply

