Toutons and Molasses

If you ever go to the Classic Cafe(8a.m.-10p.m.)

in St. John’s you will find it on their menu

It is considered a traditional Newfoundland dish

something you may not find in any other part of Canada

In my childhood home it was a weekly delicacy

as my mother baked bread almost every day

It was highly unlikely that you would beg her to

keep some dough to make the toutons and she wouldn’t

We’d ask repeatedly until she gave in and once or twice

a week we’d be greeted with dozens of toutons on a big platter

The small pieces of dough would be fried in fat in the frying pan

until golden brown, flipped and done on the other side

Then we’d grab two or three of the toutons

and pour molasses over them and dig in

Now that few people make their own bread any more

you’d be hard pressed to find toutons on your table

Perhaps if you visit an aunt or grandparent on your holidays

you might get them to fry up a couple pans for you

Or you could make your own bread dough or buy it

and cut into handful size pieces and fry in oil

Don’t forget to pick up the Crosby Molasses

as it just won’t taste the same without it

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, School Memories, Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Toutons and Molasses

  1. That would be really good right now after being out in the fresh air shoveling for the past hour.

    • Yes, with a cup of Tetley, it would be great! Peter told me they used to have toutons with molasses and cream. I don’t remember having cream, unless it was a can of cream.

      >________________________________

  2. I had my first touton at Classic not that long ago – it’s been a regular weekend haunt for years. What a great spot! Love it. Did not know it was open 24 hours!

Leave a Reply

