Tommy Hunter “Canada’s Country Gentleman”

I remember sitting on a chesterfield

waiting for Tommy Hunter

and his  country music show

The words I am a travelling man

following the breeze

travelling here and travelling there

 gathering memories  will remain with me

It was a cozy family gathering

and you wouldn’t dare speak or hum

All you had to do was sit quietly

and listen as Mom and Dad did

And no one made a peep

as Tommy stood tall and spoke

He introduced his special guests

and you knew they must be good

Sometimes there were dancers

and fiddle players who were very talented

When it was all over you were left

with anticipation for the next week’s show

That was our entertainment in our

childhood years-tv when we finally got it!

The Tommy Hunter Show was a radio program in 1960 and later went on to replace Country Hoedown in 1965. It later became known as The Tommy Hunter Show in 1983 and ran until 1992. Tommy Hunter was a Canadian artist who won three Canadian Juno awards and one Gemini award. He was also inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame and in 1986 was awarded the Order of Canada.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UtXvznfMWAw

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, People, Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tommy Hunter “Canada’s Country Gentleman”

  1. I remember Country Hoedown in particular and also Tommy Common whose voice I preferred. One song I enjoyed very much was The Wayward Wind.

  2. Pingback: Canada’s Best Music – 5 Songs At A Time – Part 10 « Is It Possible To See It All

Leave a Reply

