Mrs. Fowler Across The Road

I thought she might be lonely

English: Gypsy Woman Português: Cigana

Gypsy Lady

so I went to visit her after school

wanting to learn what I could

about her life before she came to Pasadena

English: American-style pigs in blankets.

Pigs in Blankets

A girl can be influenced

by many people especially if she is bored

after hours of housework

and caring for younger siblings

This fifty or sixty year old Nova Scotian

with her very long dark hair

which she usually wore in a bun

welcomed me at her door when I knocked

She wore big gemstone rings and

Português: Anel de mokume-gane e ônix. Autor :...

Onyx Ring

bigger earrings which I coveted

and I thought she looked something

like a gypsy I had once seen in a photo

She cooked nice meals that smelled so

good for her carpenter husband

and she offered me pigs in blankets

which I didn’t get at home and were a treat

At times she would share some of her

treasures with me, earrings which I

loved to look at in the mirror  from

time to time to get a glimpse of a younger gypsy

Oil on canvas

Young Gypsy

For Christmas she once gave me pyjamas

and a metal jewelry box with an old car on top

for she knew how much I liked my jewelry

just as she did and she thought of me while shopping

I liked to chat with her about her life in Antigonish

and what it was like there-the scenery and the people

I hoped some day that I would visit there

to see some of the sights she longed for

English: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada.
About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, People, Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

