Going up to Maxwells tonight?

Maxwells holds a lot of memories for me, more than many other establishments in Pasadena. I guess it’s because I can remember so many special times when I was there with special people.

I can recall going to Maxwells one night after working on at the strawberry u-pick all week, because Dad wanted me to come with him.  I guess although no one else might have seen it, it must have been lonely at times, going to Maxwells by yourself all the time. Others might not even consider it, but I did.  I told him I would go, if he promised I could drive us both home afterwards.

There were tourists staying in the trailer park and they were being Screeched In as Honorary Newfoundlanders. We sat down with a man and his wife, and Dad got to talking, asking many questions about where they were from and what they liked about coming to Newfoundland. The couple was not as generous as my father was with his money. They did not offer to buy a drink and neither did they invite us to visit them after the ceremony was over.

One of the Lakes was doing the ceremony, and the piece of baloney was eaten, the peppermint knob was given and the shot of screech was downed. They had tried to speak like Newfoundlanders, with much bungling, I might add. And they kissed the cod. So the certificates were handed out and within minutes the nightclub was cleared.  Not many drinks sold that hour, except to Newfoundlanders!

We didn’t linger, as it is only so long you can sit with your father, when you are happy with one drink. So we left and went home. I believe my father turned to me, as I drove his truck home and said “Thanks for coming with me, Pauline!”

That did not seem to be such a special time when it happened, but looking back I can tell that it was the last time I went there with my father and he was happy to have me accompany him. He liked the Maxwells and never tired of singing their praises. Especially Mrs. Maxwell, who he loved to visit in her home, as she was so kind to him.

Another memorable time that will remain with me was the last time I went to Maxwells with my brother Albert. He was single at the time, and was dancing with a few of the ladies. I danced with him and it was good to have a brother who didn’t mind dancing with an older sister, well, at least a few times!  He didn’t fancy taking any of the ladies home that night, so I got to drive him home. It always seemed that I was the designated driver since I only allowed myself one or two drinks for the whole night!  Some of Albert’s friends tried to get in my car with their beer bottles, but I told them I would be happy to drive them home, only if they left the bottles behind.

I remember one night falling on the dance floor because my shoes didn’t have good grips.  I was embarrassed for a few seconds but got up and brushed myself off, and hurried off to the washroom. I believe I was there with my friend Geraldine. I still have a photo of that night somewhere.  The dance had not even started and we were a little early.

Any time my husband came to Pasadena for a visit, we always managed to get up to Maxwells for a beer or two. We didn’t go to any dances but just enjoyed a quiet sitdown and chat with Callista or Sheila. We couldn’t leave my mother alone with three growing boys who were much to heavy for her to lift. Dad would be tired after working most days and he’d be gone to bed early.

The last time I spent any time at Maxwells was when my brother Brian got married.  I had spent the day with Albert’s son Justin, delivering some  money left to him by his father. We had gone to the restaurant for lunch and I was finishing off a quilt for Brian and Peggy at my good friends, Alvin’s and Linda’s house. I was not feeling great after  the sandwich I had eaten. I’d begged Justin to come to the wedding with me, but he said he didn’t have any dressy clothes to wear. I got dressed, went to the church, and then to Maxwells.  I was feeling sick as a dog! But I had promised the newly weds that I would say grace before the meal, so a promise is a promise.

To make a long story short, I said the grace, grabbed two cold plates and left without saying much to anyone, except to the bride and groom. I had a case of food poisoning and spent hours with my arms wrapped around Linda’s spotless toilet! I remembered what Gerry Murphy had said to me about my aunt expecting me to stay with her, so when I felt better, I locked up the Martins’ house and headed down to Aunt Madeline’s.  If I was going to die, I wasn’t going to do it alone.  Sad to say I drove all the way across the province to attend my brother’s wedding, only to get sicker than I’d ever been in my life, and miss it!

So these are some of my memories of my time at Maxwells’ nightclub. Each visit was a special occasion in my mind, as there were people to talk to and fun to be had. Laughter is the best medicine and we did have quite a few laughs with friends and family at this location.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Going up to Maxwells tonight?

  1. Pat Bennett says:

    I think most everyone in Pasadena has good memories of Bills Tourist Lodge/Maxwells, whether it was going to the resturant in daytime , going to the bar later or maybe a wedding reception there. My sister Callista worked there for years and seemed to be everywhere at once from the front desk to the kitchen to the bar and all points in between LOL! It was a long walk from town to there (and back) but was well worth it for the good times to be had

    • Yes, we used to always say when we saw Callista that if we had a business we’d want her working for us. She showed so much dedication to her work and customers.

      • Patrick Bennett says:

        You definatly want her on your side no matter what situation, she is still the same person she always was. Very dedicated and dependable 🙂

  2. Pingback: Salt of the Earth « newfoundlandtraveller

Leave a Reply

