Who Remembers That First Kiss?

With Valentine’s Day coming up, I thought it would be a great time to talk about that first kiss. Were you 13, 14, or 15 or older? Did you know this person a long time or was it someone you just met? Was it at a beach party, birthday party, or a visit to Pasadena Beach for a wiener roast or  South Brook Park or just when someone was walking you home? Gotcha thinkin’ now, I’m sure. Can’t imagine that you remember much about that first kiss as you were not that experienced, although your partner might have been.

 

Perhaps first kisses are anxiety filled for many young teenagers. Others probably don’t give it much thought. Good breath, bad breath, clean teeth, decayed teeth- so many details to remember.  Were arms around the neck, waist or just hanging at your side? Was there lipstick involved?

Two sun parakeets (aka sun conures) at Avifaun...
Valentine's Day wreath

Valentine's Day wreath (Photo credit: moonlightbulb)

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who Remembers That First Kiss?

  1. You really got me thinking, Pauline. And my first real kiss other than playing spin the bottle happened when I was 15. A fellow, Bob Costello, from Toronto was on vacation in Grand Falls and we palled around together. We went to the circus,actually one of those travelling amusement parks, together and had a great time on the rides and playing Crown and Anchor. Rules weren’t as strict back then about teenagers gambling. On the walk home he suddenly stopped under a light pole, believe it or not, and gave me the kiss of a lifetime. It was a soft lingering one and I did hear music and the world spun around me. I had never felt anything like it before. During his vacation we exchanged a few more kisses and enjoyed the foray into puppy love. We met about twenty years later. He was married and so was I and whatever my fantasy had been at fifteen it was not there at thirty five. I believe he is living somewhere in the United States. And he probably has no recollection of those kisses. I doubt they were his first.

Leave a Reply

