The TCH Ran Through Our Town

English: Flag of Newfoundland and Labrador Fra...

Provincial Flag of Newfoundland

English: Argentia and Port aux Basques Newfoun...

I remember crossing the TCH

many times in my young life

often several times a day

going to school and church

walking to the post office

and mostly it was mere seconds

but it stayed in my memory

There was no cross walk back then

walking across the TCH meant stopping

sometimes for minutes to let traffic go

and wonder about the license plates from

many provinces and states, the faces in the windows

and I thought some of these vehicles might stop

to explore our small community of Pasadena

When I grew older I  had different

thoughts about that wide road that

took people to the capital city of St.John’s

or farther to Port-Aux-Basques and on

across the country to Vancouver Island

I imagined myself hiking to exciting places such as

that far off island which might be different than ours

Friends and relatives often asked me as I

was studying to be a teacher and travelling across the island

what do you want to do with your life

and where do you want to live and I was sure that

I wanted to go as far away as  I could to explore the planet

to British Columbia, Nunavut and  many countries around the world

and I was brave enough to do it and have never regretted it

I often think about the TCH and how it seemed

like an endless ribbon to me as an imaginative child

one road on which I would one day wander to many cities

and meet many people and observe many events,

a road to bring visitors to our town and then to let them return

it was always the beginning of my journey

and where I return to recharge my batteries each year

Vancouver Island

Vancouver Island off the coast of BC

Flag of Vancouver Island

Flag of the island of Vancouver

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Childhood Memories, School Memories, Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

