Looking Out Over The Lake

 

Whenever I visit my hometown of Pasadena

I make several visits to the sandy beach

and look out over this part of Deer Lake

remembering my young friend Hiram

who got in trouble out on the water

and didn’t make it back to his home

I think about why he died that day

while his parents cared so much for him

and his brother was such a great friend to him

His friends remember a quiet teenager

who loved to read his comics at Harry’s Pool Hall

and earned money to pay for his school books

helping his parents out as much as he could

He was laid to rest on his fifteenth birthday

while his family and friends grieved

So much hope and promise of a family

the future of a life extinguished too soon

As I sit there and remember my Pasadena friend

I think about his legacy of hard work and experiences

and his gentle kindness to his family and friends

knowing that his life meant something to

those who loved  and cared for him

 

This piece is dedicated my childhood neighbour and friend Hiram Hounsell who drowned at one of his favorite swimming places.

Note: If anyone has a photo of Hiram, can you please contact me? Leave a message and I will get back to you.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Teenage Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Looking Out Over The Lake

  1. I lost a nineteen year old brother many years ago. This touched me.

  2. Dor says:

    Oh, this is such a sad story, a heart breaker, and the lake looks so bleak, as if it is also mourning a terrible loss. You have written this so beautifully and it is a lovely tribute.

  3. I visited solely to thank you for adding a link and then started browsing. This was very touching. Thank you for sharing it.

    • Hiram was a dear childhood friend, and sorely missed. Each place has its happy and sad components. The lake holds many happy memories but this is one memory that is hard to forget. Back then, schools did not deal with grief the same way as we try to deal with it today. Families don’t get the counselling they need, and the hurting goes on and on.Thanks for reading and commenting!

      >________________________________

Leave a Reply

