Bookstore Visit

Downtown St. John's.
Pasadena, Newfoundland and Labrador Location

 

 On Wednesday I decided I would visit the Afterwords Bookstore at 245  Duckworth Street in downtown St.John’s. I looked around for a while, trying to find a book to brighten my day. Finding nothing that caught my attention, I was about to leave the shop when I noticed the owner of the business, and decided to ask him if he had some books I was interested in reading.

“I’ve been looking for some books on the communities of Pasadena and St. Shotts,” I said.

“Nothing on those communities, I’m afraid,” replied the well dressed man.

It seemed he knew his books, so who was I to question him further? But now that I had his attention, I had to do just that.

“Are you sure you have nothing? What about other books that might mention those places?” I was determined to get anything that he had, small though it might be.

“You could look in the libraries or in  the Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador,” he offered.

“I thought there might be some books that I don’t know about,” I said.

“If you go to some bookstores on the west coast of the province you might find books that I know nothing about, but I don’t have them in my store,” he answered,  with a very serious looking expression on his face.

“How about a book of short stories? Or a compilation of nonfiction writing by various authors? Are there any books done that would have authors from one of these places?”

“None that I know about. I know that Ray Guy once said something about St.Shotts in one of his stories, but nothing more than that, none that I’ve read or seen.” He told me the quote but it’s gone from my memory.

“Well, thanks for helping me, ” I smiled at the man and left the store.

This visit made me feel a little sad that there was nothing in the bookstore about two of my favorite places on the island. It got me to thinking that perhaps we could change that.  I’d like to hear from writers from Pasadena and the surrounding area or from residents who have moved away to find work or for other reasons. If you like to write, either fiction or nonfiction, do you have something to offer to a book about Pasadena? Let’s love our town a little and get the stories down for others to read. What’s the alternative? The stories are lost for the generations to come.

If you know of some books written about our town, please make a comment or send me a message. I have to approve comments, so nothing will be published on the blog  if you ask to remain anonymous.

If you are interested in doing a book about the town, please send suggestions and topics that you’d like to explore.

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bookstore Visit

  1. Good luck in getting some stories, Pauline. I feel the same about Grand Falls. There are so many stories out there but unless they are recorded they die with the cast of characters. You are performing a wonderful service with your writing. Keep up the good work.

  2. Pingback: Salt of the Earth « newfoundlandtraveller

  3. Pingback: Putting Together A Book Or Two! « newfoundlandtraveller

Leave a Reply

