Black Bottom Muffins

Why would anyone call muffins black bottomed? I call my muffins black when I’ve burnt them, which occurs more often than I like to admit. When I tasted Black Bottom Muffins at my aunt’s home in Pasadena, I didn’t really care what she called them, because they were so delicious! I just had to get the recipe immediately.

If you’ve eaten Black Bottom Muffins in Pasadena these days, they’re probably made by my Aunt Madeline. They’re so good that she supplies a coffee shop with her baked goods. I swear she can make anything and it tastes better than my creations. Except for Snowballs! She’d get a grin if she was reading this as I’ve called her a half dozen times or more looking for her recipe, but one time I actually tasted hers and mine really are just a tad better than hers!  I use different milk and they are moist and chewy. The teachers at my old school can attest to the quality as they’ve eaten them and praised them immensely. You know this is my opinion, of course!

Recently I spoke to my Aunt Madeline and she told me that she had trouble with her oven and had burnt some of her Black Bottom Muffins. She was none too pleased. I couldn’t blame her as she makes her muffins from scratch, unlike me who makes them from a Duncan Hines cake mix. Making something with real cocoa and butter certainly costs a lot more, than a dollar cake mix. The time required to make it from scratch certainly is more as well. When my aunt told me she was not very happy to find her Black Bottom Muffins too black, I know what she means.  Even when I use a timer, I can burn my baked goods!

My Easy Recipe for Black Bottom Muffins

1. Follow the recipe for the cake mix(Duncan Hines, Dr. Oetker, etc.)

2. Combine 1/2 pk of cream cheese(low fat), 1 egg and 2 T. of sugar until creamy

3. Use paper cups in muffin pan. Fill to 1/3 of cup with large spoon.

4. Spoon 1 tablespoon of cream cheese mixture on top of the chocolate mixture.

5. Fill cups 2/3 full with cake mixture.

6. Put a dozen chocolate chips or fewer on the top of each cupcake

7. Bake according to cake mix directions.

Enjoy!

Muffins

Enjoy only one!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Black Bottom Muffins

  1. OMG, this sounds WONDERFUL. Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

