Bring on the Omelette!

 
 
English: An omelette

When I’m feeling like treating myself really good, I decide to make a substantial omelette, one that can grow hairs on your chest!  Not that I want any hairs on my chest! It gets me out of bed, pass over my husband eating bologna that might kill him and me, if I dare taste it, and most of all I feel it is a good way to nourish my body before I venture out for a walk in the frigid air!

I didn’t get to be this bountiful of a woman by eating a slice of toast every morning, or slurping on porridge or cream of wheat, the food of my childhood.  It took a whole lot of not planning to get me to this state. When I was first married, it didn’t matter, as I had to eat because I was pregnant, or I had three energetic sons to raise and chase around each day. When I was working I had to be nourished so that I could handle twenty or more children every day, along with forty or more c0-workers who might need my help or friendship. So it was an easy thing to do, to eat for all those various reasons! And boy, I am the queen of excuses and reasons! I have them coming out of my you know where!

Then I found out I had a thyroid problem and I had to take medication each day for that. Underactive, which means the pounds go on, almost overnight and you wonder who owns this body that has become Pauline. Now overactive I would be my slim and trim teenage old self! Although I went to naturopaths, I could never seem to get that thyroid to want to come back to life.  I took natural remedies anyway, crossing my fingers and toes, hoping that my thyroid would unshrivel and once again say “Here, I am, girl. No worries anymore. You’ll be back to your old self pretty soon.” Didn’t happen! And I have my doubts if it’s coming back now, now that I’m in my fifties!

I’ve done the yo-yo diets, too. But the pounds keep on finding me.  I think sometimes other people’s pounds find me as well! And even if I’m sick, food is still the first thing on my mind! It is only vertigo that will stop me from having my breakfast for two or three mornings, but other than that, I’ve had a great appetite my whole lifetime.

I digress. So now I’ve prepared and eaten my lovely omlette, which I feel is food for the gods! Well, God Almighty, anyway!  Here is the recipe I used today:

2 organic free range eggs

3 T. of rice milk or other milk

1/2 chopped small onion

English: Green, yellow and red bell peppers fr...

Add chopped peppers, if you like

1 t. of shredded old cheddar(your choice)

1 T. of chopped/minced garlic

English: A basket of garlic (allium sativum) o...

salt and pepper

Directions:

1. Break eggs into a bowl

2. Add milk

3. Add chopped onions and minced garlic

4. Whisk  for 20 seconds  and pour into greased heated frying pan

5. Sprinkle shredded cheese on top of mixture, along with salt and pepper.

6. Turn when light brown on one side

Bon Appetit!

Sometimes I’ve added chopped mushroom and/or chopped red,orange or green peppers. I bought a container of hemp hearts and I sparingly add a teaspoon of these on occasion. You add what you like and some herbs as well, if you have a favorite.

Together with a slice of spelt bread and a cup of decaffinated coffee, the omelette was a big success. My day has begun and my body should be able to hold up to the rigours I put it through!

Author’s Note:

I decided to let readers see the more humorous side of me, as writing can be a serious process, if you let it get to you! I hope you enjoy. Belated Happy Valentine’s Day to all my friends out there in Pasadena and in cyberspace!  Hope it was special for each one of you!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bring on the Omelette!

  1. teddyoshea says:

    That Omelette looks goooooooooooooooood.

  2. Dor says:

    What is spelt bread? Love this recipe and I will try it immediately. Ditto about the thyroid thing… mine started out hyper, then they “killed” the thyroid gland altogether and now it’s hypo and meds every day forever. Can’t get pounds off and lucky to maintain. Odd how similar we are, yet so far away.

    • It’s sprouted bread which I pay nearly six dollars a loaf for once in a while. My naturopath recommended it. I like it and eat only one slice a day when I have it on hand. I’d like to make my own healthy bread . Do you have a recipe for a whole grain bread?

  3. Thanks for the link. Great article in a design peaceful on the eyes and some interesting links. I especially like the idea of truffle omelette. Now, Newfoundland, is Gander part of that? – I briefly visited there once. Thanks for the visit.

    • Yes, Gander is in central Newfoundland. A lot of people have passed through the airport in that town. I always stop there on my way to Pasadena from the east coast of the island. It is my one stop, to gas up and to do a little shopping after a light lunch. Thanks for commenting!

  4. I love this comment, Pauline
    “I think sometimes other people’s pounds find me as well! And even if I’m sick, food is still the first thing on my mind!”
    That explains MY weight problem too.
    Love all those very legitimate excuses girl. I will use them too, if you don’t mind, except for the thyroid. I’ll pass on that one.
    Writing humorous blogs is hard isn’t it? I bet comedians work like trojans.

  5. Don’t even talk about weight! Menopause has not been kind!

    And isn’t it funny how we will say organic and free-range, when growing up on a farm in Ontario they were just eggs. How else would they be produced!

    • I forgot to put menopause in the piece! I love eggs so most of the time I don’t care if they’re free range, organic or anything else. Are there even organic eggs? I have five sibling living in Ontario, so I’ve made many visits over the years. I did live in Scarborough many years ago.

      • I only buy organic eggs, though big agribusiness has seen there is money to be made and in some of these places the hens are not exactly kept in a pastoral happy producing place. But it’s a question of choosing at least better, if not best.

Leave a Reply

