Well, Why Not A Plug?

Now that I’ve reached and passed the 100th. post on this blog, I’m feeling a little braver. People are reading and why not do a plug for my book? That was what one of my best friends said to me this morning during our fifty minute phone call. She hails from the Port Au Port Peninsula and we’ve been friends since the first day of my university year 1973. So here goes.

My teaching career ran from 1976 to 2011, a total of 36 years, with some time off for maternity leave and sickness, as well as time when I had deferred leave, although at these times I went to Manitoba and Nunavut to teach. All in all, it came to 29.2 years! I had more time with the college but since it was contractual it didn’t count!  I could have stayed for another year but I felt I didn’t have the energy any more to attend all those meetings. But I felt fulfilled in my career and thought it was time to do something else.

As I told many of my friends that last year, I had spent most of my life in school. Eleven years in primary, elementary and high school, seven years at university study, and thirty-six yeas substituting, replacing and working full-time- for a grand total of 54 years! Seems to be something wrong with that addition, as I’m not that old!!!  The university time was spent in summer schools, night classes and correspondence courses, so there was the overlapping of time!

My school life began at Holy Rosary in Pasadena. I spent seven years there and in grade eight went off to Xavier High School in Deer Lake, each day on bus with many children from Pasadena.  I took one semester off and worked at the Royal Bank, Queen and Roncesvalles. Then I attended MUN from January 1973 to April 1976, graduating with  a B.A.(Ed.). I left for British Columbia without attending my graduation ceremonies. I worked for the Royal Bank again before obtaining a job at Takla Landing with a lady named Eileen O’Connor from county Cork in Ireland. She tried to talk me into being the principal as there were only two of us in the school, but I declined. We lived together in the teacherage and became fast friends with Father Lobsinger, who later became the fifth bishop of Whitehorse(I did receive an invitation but didn’t attend.) Due to many troubles with the Carrier teenagers, who scared us half to death, rocking our house and leaving us a threatening note, we decided not to return the next year.

The rest is a story for another time….

Check out my self-published book at this website:

http://www.paulinefinlay.webs.com

A Cornucopia of Ideas for New Teachers

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

