J. White’s “Shellbird Island”

Recently I attended a wake for a dear friend’s mother and saw a picture of her mother sitting in front of the very same painting that I am lucky enough to own. I thought it was a one of a kind and I had the only one!  You can imagine my chagrin when I saw it. But there is no reason I should feel this way, since I purchased the painting for a steal.

I was attending a Sunday morning flea market near the Curling Center when I eyed this beautifully framed painting. Not wanting to seem too eager, I asked the seller what she wanted for it.  I was feeling quite anxious and was not expecting her answer “$25”. As you can imagine I paid the asking price without any haggling and got out of the building as fast as I could.

Driving home I wanted to pinch myself as I had never seen a painting of Shellbird Island before, and rushed to get home to do some minor work on the frame before hanging it on the opposite wall from my large couch where I mostly sit. Because I loved it so much, I decided to do the frame a golden color.

It wasn’t long before Mr. or Mrs. White’s large painting was hung and I’ve admired it greatly for many years. I tried to find out who the artist was and some information about him/her, but no luck there!  When it got such positive comments from visitors, I would say it is one of my favorite places on my drive to and from Corner Brook and grin from ear to ear. It was as if I was sitting in my car driving on the TCH, heading east every time I looked at it!  In my mind I’m heading towards my hometown of Pasadena!

No matter how many times I’ve moved residence,  I could not part with this painting! Even discovering it at someone’s wake does not deter me from my love of it! It’s probably one of the cheapest pieces of art I’ll ever own, but it makes me happy and that’s all that matters!

My son Byron once asked me which print or painting was my favorite and you know my answer!

Corner Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Corner Brook on the west coast of Newfoundland

Note: If anyone has any information on this artist, please comment or send me an email. I would appreciate it very much!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Childhood Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to J. White’s “Shellbird Island”

  1. All that matters is that you like it. Lovely painting. I can see why you would feel the way you do about it.

  2. Pingback: 25 Cent Bargain! « newfoundlandtraveller

  3. Darlene says:

    It is a lovely painting. I love how you feel like you are driving on that road when you look at it. A painting is worth a lot to the person who enjoys it as you certainly do. Sorry, this post got lost in a sea of emails. I am finally catching up. Somedays I wonder if I will live long enough to read all my emails!

  4. Kim says:

    My aunt has the same picture it used to be my grandmothers

Leave a Reply

