25 Cents Bargain!

When you attend a flea market at the Lions Center in St. John’s, you have no idea what bargains you might find. You don’t need a pocketful of money either! I know because I’ve done my share of lining up and looking around for bargains. I’d much rather attend a flea market than shop at the Avalon or Village Malls.

“Are you going to buy that?” the old man said to me.

I had no idea what I had in my hand, at that moment. Then I noticed it was an art print by Ben Gillard, who hailed from Englee. And it had the two Newfoundland Hotels on it! I loved the old Newfoundland Hotel as it was where my husband and I had spent many nights, with our three sons.

“How much are you asking for it?” I asked the person behind the table.

“25 cents,” he answered.

“If you’re not buying it, may I have it?  I’d love to have it for my daughter.” The elderly man was not giving up.

I thought for a second and felt a thrill at getting the print for a quarter.

“I’ll take it for a quarter,” I responded. “It has a lot of sentimental value for me.”

As I walked back to my car with the art print in my hands, I recalled the times we had been sad to know that the old building was going to be replaced.  Now here I was with an image of the old and the new buildings and I loved it!

A few weeks later I took the print to Wallace Fowler, a retired teacher who did some framing part-time,  and he framed it for me. Now it sits at the end of my hallway and I still enjoy looking at it. Fond memories of the hotel still remain. And I have Ben Gillard’s print to keep them alive!

Newfoundland Hotel (1926)

The Newfoundland Hotel 1926

The Fairmont Newfoundland

The Fairmont, previously The Newfoundland Hotel

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 25 Cents Bargain!

  1. Very sweet entry. It’s hard not to have good memories up there.

Leave a Reply

