Three Orange Tulips

Some days are like that. You never know all the wonderful surprises that might come your way! Last summer I did a chart in a course I was taking, glued all these images and words to a large poster board. It represented all the gifts and wonderful things I wanted to see in my future.  And would you believe flowers were everywhere on my creation?  Now they’ve been materializing every month. I don’t ask for them; they just arrive.

My friend and travel companion Brenda came down for lunch and she brought me a bouquet of flowers, which made my heart go pitter patter. The colors were awesome!  It wasn’t even Valentine’s Day. On her next visit she gifted me with a heart shaped cake for that occasion to share with hubby!

In January my hubby decided he didn’t like paying $30 for roses which usually die too soon, under my care. So he came with a dozen white carnations (and other surprises) instead for our 34th wedding anniversary and they lasted ohhhh soooo long!  Loved them! There was something virginal looking about the white petals.

My friend Judith(http://grandfallswoman.wordpress.com) came to share some time with me, and to give me free guitar lessons. Not only did she carry her guitar, but she had some of her awesome raisin cake.  A few days later she was teaching me a new crochet pattern to make an afghan for a friend’s baby.

Now that I’m doing reflexology on my friends for free, I get many freebies myself!  My  artist friend Marlene came for a little pampering and some chowder, and  she carried a lovely bottle of wine with her. Then when she returned for a second treatment, she had three lovely orange tulips(see photo above) in her hand. The color orange just automatically lifts my spirits! Tulips seem like strong flowers and each day they seem to be opening more to the energy around them.

So, yes, I do believe that most beautiful things in life are free! I enjoy visits from my friends, even when they are not carting baked goods, wine or flowers. They are the best part of all of this time on earth, just sitting, sipping on some herbal tea, and chatting about every topic under the sun! Life can’t get any better than this!

English: Orange tulips in Keukenhof flower gar...

A Field of Tulips

flower at work...cant remember the name right now!
Flowers in a spanish house
About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, People and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Three Orange Tulips

  1. Isn’t that the truth! Time with friends lifts the spirit and you part feeling better about yourself.

  2. Darlene says:

    Tulips are my favourite flower and make me feel happy. They grow in huge fields in the Pacific Northwest and are very inexpensive here. I took my mother to the Tulip Festival in LaConner, Washington a couple of years ago (where my profile picture was taken) and she was delighted to see fields upon fields of brightly coloured tulips. You are fortunate to have so many thoughtful friends and an intelligent husband.

  3. I’m envious. Tulips in late February are such a tonic–and these are particularly lovely.

  4. Dor says:

    This is the nicest, happiest post! Tulips are my favorite flower and how lucky you are to receive them and all the other gifts of love from your hubby and your friends. I know what you mean about the value of just visiting and talking and how important friendships can be.

    • Yes, friends and husband are very important to one’s well-being! Small gifts mean a lot at times when you least expect them. My house is full of plants and trees and I don’t even have a green thumb!

      >________________________________

  5. I love flowers! Before long the crocuses will be popping their little heads up and hearalding the arrival of spring. I am very much looking forward to this gardening season.
    Cancer Warrior
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

  6. eof737 says:

    Your flowers are beautiful… Love those tulips. 😉

Leave a Reply

