My “Sweet” Sister Carol Ann

Vegan Chocolate Fudge. Carol Ann has always been one of the leaders in our family, leading mostly by example. She has raised three wonderful children: Candace, Corey and CJ(Claude Joseph). She is married to the love of her life Claude and most of the time they live in Trepassey.

The fourth born child of Albert and Joan Finlay was sweet from a young age, from birth I would say, though I can’t remember much about when I was four years old. As she grew a little older, she liked to make others happy.  She held the record for making the most and best fudge of any sister anywhere.  I could vouch for that!  My family would vouch for that and back me up!  She still does make the best chocolate fudge, bar none! So that is one meaning behind the “sweet” sister comment! She has definitely earned that after using up more sugar in my mother’s cupboard than anyone of us, for sure. It’s a good thing I’m not eating much of her fudge these days or I could say that my larger than average belly and hips are a product of her kindness!

Carol Ann had a health scare a few years back and suffered a lot recovering from the recommended treatments. Through it all she didn’t complain or give up.  She was a real trooper! She was as brave as anyone I’ve ever known.  I offered to go to the doctor with her, but she chose to do it on her own. Many people sent her Get Well cards, and I think she was overwhelmed with all the support.  She is such an independent person, that she couldn’t see what all the fuss was about. I think she felt that she was going to get well, and there was no need for worry or panic.

Having seen her kindness and concern for people in the community of Trepassey and surrounding areas I know she is sweet in every sense of the word. She devoted many hours of her time to look after our father when he lived on Daniel’s Point, especially when he was sick. I believe she is the most like him, in her love for growing anything and looking after her garden.  And so not to embarrass her futher, I will end by saying that to the present time she likes to help out in any way she can, to the betterment of her neighbours and community.

You might also call this piece a tribute to a wonderful sister, one I’m glad to live so close to! Now I have four more sisters to think and write about! I do get myself into a whole lot of trouble these days.

Thought for today:

If you have someone in your life who is a real sweetheart, tell him/her so today. Go one step further, and make a phone call, or bring a bouquet of flowers.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Childhood Memories, People and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My “Sweet” Sister Carol Ann

  1. donna says:

    I am sure your sister will appreciate you taking the time to publicly acknowledge her “sweetness”.
    As much as I know her, I have to agree with you. I always think of her as “sweet”!
    Now she is really going to be embarassed!

  2. Pauline, let me take the opportunity to tell YOU today that you are a real sweetheart. You are kind and generous and I have to stand behind you when you say you do unto others what you would like done to you. I am proud to be your friend.

  3. Darlene says:

    Your sister sounds wonderful. I am so envious as I don’t have a sister. I had three brothers and I love them dearly but a sister would have been nice. Maybe that’s why i get very close to my girl friends. I do have a wonderful Aunt close to my age who lives in Arizona. I tell her I love her often.

    • I have many close friends who are like sisters. To name some: Linda, Liz,Brenda,Joan,Judith,Wanda,Paula,Joan,Jeanette,Holly,Madeline,Maureen,Edie,Marie and perhaps I’ve forgotten some. I have five sisters, so I’m very lucky indeed.

  4. judithhb says:

    Oh I am glad that you have subscribed to my blog so that I was able to find you. I don’t know where you live but it sounds like somewhere I would like.
    I have two sisters – both wonderful – one in Los Angeles, Cal and one in London, UK. So both a long way away from New Zealand.
    I shall return to read more of your posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

