How The Meanings of Words Have Changed: Fresh and Swipe

Farm Fresh Food & Pharmacy

It’s funny how times and language change. One time if you heard this conversation you’d really be appalled.

“Put your hands where I can see them.”

“Oh, come on now.  You know you like me.”

“Yes, but not well enough for you to overstep your boundaries!”

“Come on. You know you like it!”

“Don’t get fresh with me or I’m going home!”

Times have changed and now getting fresh mostly means getting fresh fish or meat or produce in general. Buying fresh, right from the water or soil is usually best. A dating situation is not described in these terms any more. Getting fresh goods usually means buying foods that are good for you! It could also mean that something doesn’t have enough salt or pepper- that meat is too fresh! Walking into a fresh smelling room might refer to a room with the windows opened and nice fresh air pouring in!

The Word “Swipe”

“Wrong way, Miss!” The sales clerk said to me. “Swipe it the other way!” She was referring to my Visa card. Some machines require you to put the chip at the top or bottom.  While others need the card swiped another way. I always get the side reversed!

“Do you know when I worked in the bank, you would never use the word “swipe”?” I said to the clerk.

She just smiled and gave me my receipt and bag of items.

If you swiped something and got caught years ago, you could be banned from a store or brought to the police station for shoplifting. Now it just refers to a downward movement of a debit or credit card so your information can be read by the machine and bank.

It is interesting to notice how language changes over time. Which words do you hear that remind you of something completely different in your youth?

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How The Meanings of Words Have Changed: Fresh and Swipe

  1. Not just time, but also place changes language: When I went to college in the states, I yelled down the dorm hall, asking if anybody had a rubber. I meant eraser, but you can imagine the responses I got!

  2. eof737 says:

    Yep… Our language is evolving daily. with new words popping up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

