My Riches

Blackberries are a source of polyphenol antiox...

My riches consist not in the extent of my possessions, but in the fewness of my wants. J. Brotherton

It seems as I grow older, I do not care as much for possessions. I don’t know when this piece of wisdom came to me, as it’s slowly infiltrating my essence. One time I wanted gemstone rings and beautiful clothing. I wanted a nice house with great furniture. I wanted bookcases with books galore. I wanted….

When did it change? My wants no longer follow me around. They are more in line with my needs.  I need good nutritious foods to sustain me.  I need clean water. I need warm clothing to protect me from the rain, snow, dampness, coldness. I need my friends and family more than ever. I need to try new adventures. I need to hear music and to dance. I need to read only words that inspire me or make me think. I need peace in my life.

There is no more keeping up with the Jones. A house that doesn’t leak or have mice is sufficient. Sometimes I think I could live in a small cabin in the woods! I don’t need matching clothes and jewelry to feel good. I don’t need to have the body that I had when I was twenty years old to be happy. I don’t need to do a lot of things any more. Now that I’m retired I decide what I do each day. I can stay away from department stores and malls, and be happy with a trip to the supermarket once a week to get some nutritious food.

It seems that having lived over fifty years, I am more interested in living a simpler life. I like to try meditation, reiki, reflexology, therapeutic touch and other modalities to improve my energy, and ultimately my life! I need to get some exercise each day, in the fresh air.

So every now and then, no matter where you live, you can come across a good quote that you really know what it means. The fewness of my wants!  Yes, my wants are few these days. I do still want to do that trip around the world. But other than that I want to keep in touch with my children and grandchildren, to let them know that I am there for them when they need me. I want to spend quality time with my husband and friends. I want to search for God in each person, no matter who he/she is.

I believe that contemplation is good for the soul. Have you read or heard a quote recently that inspired you? How about sharing it with us?

Clothes line

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Riches

  1. Diane Tibert says:

    I know how you feel. I’ve never been one to seek fine things, but I’m less incline to now. I prefer a good book to a large-screen TV and a small car good on gas instead of a luxury vehicle.

    One of my favourite quotes: Gipsy gold does not chink and glitter. It gleams in the sun and neighs in the dark. Attributed to the Claddaugh Gypsies of Galway.

  2. Darlene says:

    Great quote. I find I tend to want less and less as time goes by as well. (Except for shoes and books but that was another post) I loved Diane’s quote too. Here is another one:
    “I have no riches but my thoughts. Yet these are wealth enough for me.”
    – Sara Teasdale

  3. Sure enjoyed reading this Pauline. Wisdom comes with age and experience and it looks like it has already made it’s way to you. I am beginning to experience the same thoughts and feelings on life. It is only this year ..on my deferred salary leave.. that I am getting the time to reflect and realize what brings happiness , contentment and satisfaction. It is the simple basic things in life that truly do mean the most.

  4. Amazing what a few years does. I saw this in my mom and grandma. They started giving things away, and they weren’t the type to be tied to possessions anyway. I would have a hard time letting loose of my books, though.

    • I’m trying to give away my books. I donate them or try to sell them for travel money! I guess as we age we realize that physical items do not necessarily make us happy.

      >________________________________

      • Diane Tibert says:

        My books are my tools of my trade. Like a carpenter who would hold tight his hammer in case it is needed, I hold tight to my books because as a writer I use them often. Certainly some may not be looked at for a year or more, but I know it is there holding the information I may need. These books are more reference material, such as the 1970s dictionary, the Newfoundland dictionary, how to create characters, how to sketch real life, etc. History books including my family are also life keepers.

        A selection of novels are valued, but there are about a hundred I could easily part with. I’d rather give away most of the things in this house before I’d part with my books. But that’s me: a lover of books. 🙂

      • I study energy medicine and these books I would not part with as it has taken me years to collect them. I also have a collection of quilting books. Years ago I bought the Encyclopedia of Newfoundland and Labrador for obvious reasons. Other than some hard cover coffee table books and my collection of teachers’ books, I have few that I would not part with for free or a few dollars.

        My daughter- in-law to be is studying to be a teacher and when I’m sure I’m not going up North, she can have my teaching books. I use my encyclopedia every week, along with some other reference books, The Dictionary of Newfoundland and Labrador being one.

        As for the other hundreds of books I would like them gone to other homes! I often buy novels at the library and then give them away or download them on my Kobo.

  5. Stu says:

    Nice post – I loved the quote so much I tweeted it! You have some lovely followers here. Well done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

