No Tooth Fairy Back Then!

English: Artists impression of the tooth fairy...

Is this the tooth fairy?

 

One vivid memory I have is my father tying a piece of string around my tooth, and then attaching it to a doorknob. The door was slammed and out popped my tooth! I’m not really sure if it was one of my sisters or me. It is not something I would like anyone to do.

Now when one of my grand daughters loses a tooth, she stores the tooth under a pillow and waits for morning to see how much money the tooth fairy left there. There was always a big toothless smile when she finds a five dollar bill or a toonie.

“Time to get up. Got to get dressed and have breakfast before going to school.”

“Oh, wait, now, Mom!  I’ve got to check to see if the tooth fairy came last night”

“All right, dear. Check fast as it is getting late.”

“Look, Mom! A toonie! Wow!” She shoves the coin in her bank before getting dressed. A big smile graces her beautiful face.

When the two front teeth fall out, and the speech changes, some children become a little self-conscious about the gap where the teeth once were. Photos are taken for the family scrapbooks and photo albums. Parents and other family members sing “All I want for Christmas is my two front teeth!” if the loss of teeth is around that season of the year.

I don’t remember getting money for my fallen out teeth. My sisters might have different recollections. Perhaps there was no money to give to children who did not really need it. The only little bit of whimsy back then was Santa and his elves, and the Easter Bunny who brought Easter Eggs. We read fairy tales and comic books but there was no tooth fairy to arrive late at night when we were sleeping to sneak a little moula under our pillows!

Where did that tradition come from, I wonder?

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Childhood Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to No Tooth Fairy Back Then!

  1. Darlene says:

    WE had a tooth fairy but we only got twenty five cents at the time. I wonder how the tradition started? I carried it on with my children.

  2. Ha ha! My dad did that too! Tied a string around the tooth, a door knob, and then slammed the door to extract the tooth. I do remember the tooth fairy, but received only nickles or dimes, so I had to up my social status, by adding lots of coins from my piggy bank before revealing that the fairy had indeed came and went. LOL Too funny! And no, I honestly have no idea where that little lady came from. Good question!

    -Cindy

  3. I’m amazed at how many stories exist on the tooth fairy recession. I find it amazing how much the economy affects us!

    Thanks for linking to our story about the tooth fairy.

    • You’re welcome! I still have most of my teeth,so tooth fairy or not, I eat well, floss and brush. That’s what is important. Stay away from the acids and sugars, and you are going in the right direction. Lay off the soda pops!

  4. I don’t know the origins. I only know that back in the early ’50s I got a dime. And yes, we did the string and doorknob too, but only after wiggling it loose to the point where it was nearly ready to pop out all by itself.

    Very nice post.

  5. Dor says:

    Such a sweet story that brought back memories of my childhood. We always discovered a dime under the pillow instead of the tooth left there in the night. Does this reveal my venerable age? I enjoyed this post very much and thanks for sharing.

    • I think it is so cute how excited the children get because they know the tooth fairy is coming. I don’t believe it should be a big amount of money, but a quarter or a loonie should suffice. Nah, you aren’t that old, girl!

Leave a Reply

