A Can of Tuna

I could have gone to the Bird’s Nest or Swiss Chalet or Tim Horton‘s, for that matter, after all my house organizing. I could have spent at least fifteen bucks for that extra cup of java or green tea, but I didn’t.  I opened up my cupboard door and reached for a small can of Clover Leaf packed in water tuna! I might have cost me a buck. I can’t remember! If I had gone to a restaurant I’d never order it, but when you’re feeling starved, mix a can of tuna, with some sweet relish and some real mayo and for the approximate cost of $1.50 max, along with two of my own slices of homemade bread toasted, perhaps two dollars total!

You just can’t beat the taste and it is so delicious. One time at Cora’s in Barrie, Ontario, my sister Theresa ordered an open faced tuna with cheese melted on top. I could not bring myself to settling for tuna. Then after eating another dish, I wished I had my time back to do just that! I liken it to ordering pan fried cod, when you eat it every day and you couldn’t bear that someone would screw it up!  You know you can prepare it better than any chef, no matter what his training and you know the way you love it!

When I was going up to Nunavut to teach a few years back, I made sure I had many cans of sardines, for lunches, and tuna for all those evenings I didn’t want to cook. So I got to enjoy my tuna sandwiches the way I always make them! Of course I brought my own flour so I could make homemade bread to go with my cans of tuna.

Back in the 70s when I headed out to the west coast of Canada, one of my first memories was having a tuna sandwich at a new friend’s home. She made her sandwiches with sweet relish and chopped onion. I didn’t like the onion that much at first but after a while it grew on me. The only other tuna sandwiches I’d had were at the university where there was nothing in them except tuna and mayo. They were good, but could have been much better.

Whenever I need a quick meal, I can always turn to a can of tuna. It’s easy, fast and cheap. You can’t get much better than that!  Oh, yea, did I say it is nutritious, too?

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Can of Tuna

  1. MMMM, now I’m craving a tuna salad sandwich. My mom would make them open faced with melted cheese for us when we were in school…..on homemade bread of course.
    cancer warrior
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

  2. I love tuna salad sandwiches, too, and also tuna melts! Now I’m hungry! 🙂

  3. Well, that’s it then . Tuna sandwiches for your next meal at my place. I love tuna too.

Leave a Reply

