Poetry And Other Words I Can’t Part With

I wanted to share these poems. Enjoy. May they make your day a little merrier.

With Every Breath

With every breath I take today,

I vow to be awake;

And every step I take,

I vow to take with a grateful heart–

So I may see with eyes of love

into the hearts of all I meet

To ease their burden when I can

and touch them with a smile of peace.

(author unknown)

A LIfe In Your Hands by Dorothy Law Holte

If a child lives with criticism, he learns to condem;

If a child lives with hostility, he learns to fight;

If a child lives with ridicule, he learns to be shy;

If a child lives with shame, he learns to feel guilty;

If a child lives with tolerance, he learns to be patient;

If a child lives with encouragement, he learns confidence;

If a child lives with praise, he learns to appreciate;

If a child lives with fairness, he learns justice;

If a child lives with security, he learns to have faith;

If a child lives with approval, he learns to like himself;

If a child lives with acceptance and friendship,

He learns to find love in the world.

Gratitude by Melody Beattie

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more.

It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity.

It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a

friend.

Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow.

And A Meadow Lark Sang by Ravindra Kumar Karnani

(This poem was originally written in the Hindi language.)

The child whispered, “God, speak to me”. And a meadow lark sang The child did not hear.

So the child yelled, “God, speak to me!” And the thunder rolled across the sky. But the child did not listen.

The child looked around and said, “God, let me see you!” and a star shone brightly. But the child did not notice.

And the child shouted, “God, show me a miracle!” And a child was born but the child did not know.

So the child cried out in despair, “Touch me, God, and let me know you are here!” Whereupon God reached down and touched the child. But the child brushed the butterfuly away. And walked away unknowingly.

Attitude by Charles Swindoll

The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life. Attitude, to me, is more important than facts. It is more important than the past, than education, than money, than circumstances, than failures, than successes, than what other people think or say or do. It is more important than appearance, giftedness or skill. It will make or break a company…a church…a home. The remarkable thing is we have a choice every day regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day. We cannot change our past…we cannot change the fact that the people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is out Attitude… I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it. And so it is with you,

                                                ….We are in charge of our Attitudes.”

 

Note:

At some conference or workshop I was given some words of wisdom which have worked for me many times over the years. The guest speaker, and I wish I knew who it was, said when you meet people on the street, friend, foe or stranger, you can say a little prayer for them. May God bless you today.

For many years, there was a person who, for whatever reason, did not speak to me. I started using this, without telling anyone. God knew and he was the most important one. There was such a change in this person’s behaviour towards me, that I wanted to say “You finally figured out that I’m not out to get you!” But I bit my lip and smiled. I’m sure the One up above was smiling, too!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poetry And Other Words I Can’t Part With

  1. Stu says:

    Some great wisdom right there. Thanks for that set of reminders. 🙂

  2. Loved these, thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

