Put A Smile On That Face Of Yours

Trevor Hall Big Smile

It’s hard to feel stressed when you’re smiling. People respond to you more positively and you generally get farther ahead if you show those pearly whites. In the morning, do you floss and brush so those pearly whites are ready to show off your big smile? Nothing impresses more than someone who looks after one’s teeth.

 

I’m sure you’ve heard that if you smile when you answer the phone, the person on the other end knows. I’m thinking that there must be some study done that explains that, but I’ve yet to hear about  it. But I believe it works, just as I believe in a lot of things that I can’t see!

 

Having experienced childbirth a number of times, I know that after all the hurting is over a big smile spreads and it’s hard not to keep smiling. A natural high! You don’t even have to try to be happy.  You just are!  You’ve just given birth to the next prime minister of Canada or the first lawyer in your family. Why the heck shouldn’t you smile?

 

Now it wouldn’t be right here not to mention the happy face symbol. It has made millions of dollars, and why do you think that is? My theory being that why wouldn’t anyone like that happy looking symbol.  Children love the smiley faces in school, and most of my adult friends like to draw the happy circles all over the place or put them on their text messages.

 

I feel like I’m trying to sell you on smiling more. Smiling and laughing are two signs of couples in love,and friends who are enjoying each others’ company. There has to be more eye contact when you’re smiling at someone. There just has to be!

 

Recently I read somewhere that you can fool your brain when you smile. Even if you have nothing to smile about, smile and those endorphins are released and your whole being feels like you’re on cloud 9.  Apparently your brain does not care, so why should you? Smile whenever you need a lift or have nothing better to do.

 

One time I had to do a telephone interview.  An article I read had some tips for doing a good interview. The writer suggested that I dress up as if I were actually going in front of the panel of interviewers. And I distinctly remember another tip stating that I should smile, even have a mirror close by to remind oneself to do so.  Yes, I did get the job!

 

A good joke, a good story, or a good friend wearing a smile-all of these make you show your pearly whites! Whatever the reason, I get it! Endorphins are released and you are riding high on life! Go for it.  You know you wanna smile!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in People, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Put A Smile On That Face Of Yours

  1. I love this most inspirational post! I can also completely relate to your childbirth feelings, as I felt the same way; a definite natural high! I wrote a poem, “Smile” last month, if you’d like to read…we must be on the same page and it’s a great page to be on, isn’t it? Thanks again, for your uplifting words! 🙂
    Lauren

  2. Darlene says:

    Smile and the whole world smiles with you. I so believe in smiling. I used to tell my retail staff, no matter hoe you feel when you come in in the morning, paste a smile on your face and after an hour it will be real. no one wants to buy something from a sour face.

    • That is so true! I believe there should be a whole year of training to be a customer service rep. A couple of months ago I was asking a girl for help and she said “I am on the phone!” she wasn’t at the counter talking to a customer. It was her own personal phone. I know it could have been an urgent matter at home. Okay, smile and walk away!

  3. Stu says:

    This is absolutely true – smiling literally releases endorphins into your system and makes you feel good. Good reminder. Stu 🙂 (By the way – got that blog issue on a redirect!)

Leave a Reply

