Where’s Your Optimism?

Last night I came across The Optimist Creed and thought I would share it with you. I received it at a Positive Thinkers’ meeting in St.John’s a few years ago. It was written by Christian D. Larson in 1912, so it’s about one hundred years old.

The Optimist Creed – by Christian D. Larson 1912
                                 Promise Yourself
To be so strong that nothing can disturb your

peace of mind.

To talk health, happiness, and prosperity to

every person you meet.

To make all your friends feel that there is

something worthwhile in them.

To look at the sunny side of everything and

make your optimism come true.

To think only of the best, to work only for the best and

to expect only the best.

To be just as enthusiastic about the success of

others as you are about your own.

To forget the mistakes of the past and

press on to the greater achievements of the future.

To wear a cheerful expression at all times and

give a smile to every living creature you meet.

To give so much time to improving yourself that

 you have no time to criticize others.

To be too large for worry, too noble for anger, too strong for fear,

and too happy to permit the presence of trouble.

To think well of yourself and to proclaim this fact to the world,

not in loud words, but in great deeds.

To live in the faith that the whole world is on your side,

so long as you are true to the best that is in you.

To convert this intention to a daily declaration, just begin with “I promise myself” and replace “your” with “my”, “you” with “I”, and “yourself” with “myself”.

 

http://thesecret.tv/optimists-creed/

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Where’s Your Optimism?

  1. gullyjumper says:

    Awesome! Those are great words to live by…make no wonder they’ve lasted 100 years 🙂

  2. Love that poetry! It is so inspirational and a joy to read!

  3. Dor says:

    Thank you! I have saved it, copied it, and will, converted it to me, my and I, and will try hard to follow it. Good advice from 1912 and thanks for sharing.

  4. Darlene says:

    I love this and will borrow it! Thanks so much. We all need reminding from tiem to time.

  5. Pingback: The Optimist Creed « Spiritual Rumination

Leave a Reply

