Putting Together A Book Or Two!

Our home office

Having self-published one book at great expense to myself, I am currently trying to find a publisher or company to help with two Come Home Year productions. More expensive doesn’t necessarily equate to better, in my books!

The first book will be called St. Shotts: Our Home, Our Anchor. This book will contain stories from about 30 writers. People who live in the community, relatives who have moved away but visit each year, visitors who have stayed here or spent considerable time here-all of these have submitted stories about how St.Shotts is significant in their lives. Some writers are first time writers.One has a Phd. in English from Tufts University. Some of the writeres talk strictly about people who once lived or are currently living there. Other stories are about the school, the beach and the games that were played over the years. Many are memories of living in or visiting the place.

Some stories that will make others see St.Shotts from different perspectives are from people who have recently bought property in the community and come back each summer. Interest has been shown by the very young, and the not so old! There are stories by our former principal who taught in the last school for 35 years. There is also a tribute to her by a former student. There’s a story about the oldest couple living in the community, who has 13 children, 35 grandchildren and 14 great grandchildren. There is a story by a grandmother about her stepbrother leaving the community at age 15 to seek his fortune. Just so many amazing stories and perspectives!

Even our parish priest, Father Peter Golden,  is doing a story for the book. He is from Ireland and has quite a way with words. You might say he has the gift of the Blarney!

The second book contains stories about Pasadena, a small community sandwiched between Deer Lake and Corner Brook. These stories will be written by current residents and also people who have moved away. It is in early stages, and has six writers showing interest thus far. I’m  expected that this number will increase throughout the months of March and April.

Whether the books are 80 pages or 120 pages in length, there is a considerable amount of time and attention necessary to get the stories to the final stages, for presentation in each book. Some stories were submitted in written form and have to be typed. All need to be edited, to varying degrees.

Perhaps you have suggestions for a newcomer like me, and if so I’d be interested in hearing from you.  If you are a lawyer, you might be able to advise on how to make sure all writers know that profits will be donated to the communities mentioned above, and if there are documents that need signing. Since this is of no monetary gain for the submitters, is there a form to be signed? Right now I have emails from most writers stating that they are aware that no money will be given to writers, and that all profits will go to the community.

If you are a publisher, do you have suggestions for the cheapest and best quality book that can be created?  All suggestions will be considered. Some residents have sent me photos of the anchor  community hall. One will be chosen to be used.

In consideration of how many books should be printed, is there a good way to figure out the number? Also, is there a way of printing so that only the binding needs to be chosen carefully?  For example, if I print the first book at Staples, could I take it to be bound at a lower cost overall? Can I put a copyright sign on the first page, without having a legitimate publishing company? So many questions and I’m not even sure if I’ve asked the most important ones. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The books will get done, but with more input from people in the know, the process will be that much smoother. HELP!

Writer Wordart

Writer Wordart (Photo credit: MarkGregory007)

Thanking you in advance.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, People, St. Shotts Connection, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Putting Together A Book Or Two!

  1. Scriptor Obscura says:

    Have you heard of Lulu, a do-it-yourself self-publishing company? I have used them myself, and I was satisfied with the book that was printed, although I had to do it all myself. I would recommend them to you if you are interested. Here is more information about them in case you want to try them:

    http://www.lulu.com/

    I wish you all the best of luck in putting together your new book! 🙂

  2. Diane Tibert says:

    I’m going to contact you through email. I have a lot of information to share since I’ve been down that road and on it again with a self-published book scheduled for release on May 6th.

    I don’t see your email address on your site. If you want to contact me through mine (tibert@ns.sympatico.ca), I’ll get back to you.

    I’m heading back out to the barn shortly, so I won’t be able to answer until after nine tonight (9:30 in Newfoundland 🙂 )

  3. jakesprinter says:

    Nice work ,beautiful 🙂

  4. Hi,

    I feel your pain and confusion. Having recently gone through this, I can offer you some advice. But beware, it’s worth what the charge is!

    In no particular order: By all means, get it copyrighted. You don’t need a publisher in order to do it and it’s probably better that you do it first to protect yourself against any unscrupulous companies.

    As far as finding a publisher and/or agent: there is a wonderful website and subscription service (and it’s cheap!) called First Writer at firstwriter.com. They can help you find what you’re looking for and will send you frequent updates on the info you require.

    There are several publishers right in Newfoundland that specialize in Newfoundland work and authors. My book, which is coming out this fall (By the way, I found my publisher through First Writer!), is about Newfoundland, but the local publishers weren’t interested because I’m not a Newfoundlander. You may have better luck.

    Hope this helps. Please let me know if you’d like more info.

    Good luck. With perseverance, it WILL get published.

  5. Hi:
    Check out http://www.magcloud.com. It’s an online self-publishing print on demand company operated by Hewlett-Packard. I’ve used it twice now for photo portfolios with great success. (Once on the site you can see my books “Auto Parts” and “the Earth Laughs in Flowers” by searching Linda Joyce Ott.) The quality, paper, turn around time is super. You get a proof at no cost (just postage), can make changes, get another no cost proof, etc. I’m working on my third book now. Cheers, Linda

  6. Pingback: Editing Can Be So Frustrating! « newfoundlandtraveller

Leave a Reply

