The Comfort of a Storm

Alaska Snow Storm mar 18 2002

Right now the storm is upon us, and before long there will be 25 to 30 centimetres of snow all over the place! Oh, what a comfort! The juxtaposition of it all!  I just returned from Mexico where it was nearly 30 degrees Celsius every day. I had to wear a bathing suit to cover all the private areas, and to stay cool. Now I have to wear the warmest coat and boots I have when I shovel out my driveway and my car! What a change! But there’s a comfort in the storm. Let me explain.

I don’t have to go anywhere. I don’t have to shop. I don’t have to put in an appearance anywhere. I can stay toasty warm. I can stay in my warmest pjs and housecoat throughout the whole storm. I can look at the windows across the street and the light from the windows glows brightly and I know my neighbours are staying put; they’re not going anywhere in the blizzard. We are all in the same situation. Tomorrow is Saturday and most of them are not working on the weekend. So I know they are making special meals, perhaps some homemade bread, raisin buns and maybe even some hot chocolate. They, too, are looking up the hill at my windows and wondering if I’m reading my new books I just borrowed from the library or the new free ones I downloaded on my Kobo. They see my car at the end of the driveway and know that I am prepared to stay inside in my little cocoon, with the heat up on bust. We are all enjoying the well insulated homes we’re paying for each month. Mother Nature is giving us high winds and blustery conditions and we’re making the most of them.

Who ever expects you to go out to that Positive Thinkers breakfast or that walk around Quidi Vidi Pond when there’s a storm? No expectations, no rules. Stay put and vegetate. Move to get a coffee or prepare a sandwich or search for the best apple turnover recipe. Or if the spirit moves you, make a gourmet meal! It’s up to you. Oh, the thrill of having so much time to do just whatever you want to do!

Sleep, precious sleep! You can sleep anytime you want, if you are alone or if your partner is nodding off, too. Napping is good for you and the storm provides a good excuse to catch up on the ZZZZZZZZs after a Friday night downtown or getting up early for seven days straight in Mexico! Your body recognizes that you are helping it repair from those odd liquors you kept pouring into it, and all that rich food that made you so happy but needed every cell working too hard to adjust. Boy, life doesn’t get much better than this!

With weddings coming up there’s time to take out all your fabrics and decide what kind of quilt you want to make. It has to be different than anything you’ve made before; it has to be special. The storm provides ample time for searching through your collection of quilting books. You may not need to buy any new materials or threads as you have tons saved up for that special quilt. Oh, the detachment when the wind is blowing hard and there are hours of time for anything you want to do!  Perhaps it’s that journal entry or short story that has been laying dormant for days or years. Or you want to organize your closet or garage. You can take your dead time, and mull over every small thing you find.

friday night blues

(Photo credit: j.lee43)

Yes, the comfort in a storm comes from the shutdown of the world outside your door! You know you can’t move your car and no taxi can get up your lane or even down the highway.  Only emergency vehicles can get through. No flights move from the airport. People are secure inside, looking at the nasty weather. Children are hoping for hills of snow to have fun on when the storm is over. Sometimes the electricity goes off and you use candles and flashlights to get around. Fireplaces are stocked with wood and brought to life in a storm, especially if the power goes off. There’s a coziness in these hours with strong wind blasting against the house and snow flurries or sleet hitting the windows. Right at this moment, I know the comfort of a storm in Torbay, Newfoundland.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Comfort of a Storm

  1. Darlene says:

    Wow! That is reality all right. We came back from a tropical holiday once and had to slosh through snow and ice in sandals and shorts to get to our car. It was a rude awakening. Keep warm and safe.

  2. Lori says:

    I love the occasional snow storm. They are few and far between here in Texas and usually only last for a day or two. I wish I knew how to quilt. Bundle up and have fun relaxing in your pjs!

    • I stayed up too late, ate corn flakes way too late, so I’m up listening to the wind and snow hitting my house. One can become very introspective in a storm! May crawl back in bed for a cozy reading session….oh, the comfort of a storm!

    • Thought I’d mention that my son and his fiancée were recently in Texas. No need to publish that bit of info though, as I don’t like disclosing too many details about their lives. I think it was Huston. Also many years ago when I taught in God’s Lake Narrows there was a father and son at a fishing lodge. They go there each year. I think they drove to Healey’s Lodge in Manitoba. They were very nice.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

